UC Libraries

41-Records found for the letter B

First | Next |Last


Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B)
  Coverage: 1982 - present  |    Access: UC Only
(Microbiology B) Coverage: 1982- current; updated: monthly, This database covers bacterial immunology and vaccinations to diseases of man and animals. Major areas of subject coverage include Aggressins and toxins, Animal bacteriology, Antibacterial agents, Antibiosis, Antibiotics, Cell structure and function, Culture, Ecology and distribution, Genetics and evolution, Human bacteriology, Identification, Immunology, Invertebrate bacteriology, Methodology, Microbial symbiosis, Plasmids, Predation, Taxonomy, Typing.
Connect   


BAHR Database
Free Access
Created in 1962 by Edmond Frezouls, the Bulletin Analytique d'Histoire Romaine (BAHR) was first presented as a yearly serial of analysis of articles from the scientific press, classified by topic and related to the roman history and archaeology. Since 1992 the analysis were stopped in order to promote the choice of key words - nations, anthroponomy, theonomy, - geographic places, - literature sources, epigraphy, papyrology, - different topics and key words. For this last group, a thesaurus has been established. The annual paperwork publication continues, but since 1999, the entire data base is also available on the Web - more precisely the data collected in about a thousand French and foreign press magazines, most of them inventoried since 1990. Most of the inventory and analysis were made by four CNRS engineers, member of the UMR 7044 (Etude des Civilisations de l'Antiquite, CNRS/Marc Bloch University). Michel Matter, Doris Meyer, Marie-Jose Morant, Andre Pautler, together with different teachers and research workers and doctoral candidates of Marc Bloch University (Strasbourg), Haute Alsace University (Mulhouse), Pierre-Mendes-France (Grenoble), Paris I, Paris IV, and also the members of the Research Group on Roman History of the Laval University of Quebec.
Connect   


Balance of Payments and International Investment Position Statistics (BOP/IIP)
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1948-  |    Access: UC Only
Balance of Payments Statistics summarizes, for a specific period, the economic transactions of an economy with the rest of the world. It reports total goods, services, factor income, and current transfers an economy receives from or provides to the rest of the world as well as capital transfers and changes in each economy's external financial claims and liabilities. The BOP database contains time series data from 1948.
Connect   


BCC Research: Market Forecasting
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: Current  |    Access: UC Only
BCC's market research reports explore major economic, scientific, and technological developments in industrial, pharmaceutical, and high technology organizations. Industry analysis and market forecasts for advanced materials, high-tech systems and components, nanotechnology and novel processing methods are at the forefront of the company's expertise. (Saving reports works better than opening in browsers).
Connect   


Beazley Archive
Free Access
Databases: By 2004 the Beazley Archive had more than twenty databases of different types of objects in different formats. To manage data more efficiently they were merged into one 'extensible' database system (XDB) between 2004 and 2005. Merging datasets also enabled the 'benefits' of one database to be transferred to another. For example, a database of inscriptions on Athenian vases was merged with the Pottery Database, and the latter was merged with Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum.
Connect   


Best Practices Database
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: Current  |    Access: UC Only
The full-text database contains "best practices" which are documented strategies and tactics employed by highly admired companies. The profiled practices have been implemented and honed to help place their practitioners as the most admired, the most profitable, and the keenest competitors in business. This information is gathered from a variety of sources. For the most part, this information is based on interviews, surveys, and other mechanisms of "primary" research - information that is simply not available in the public sector. Other database documents are distilled insights from secondary research -- books, magazines, libraries, Internet, and other public-domain resources. The subject areas currently covered are Business Operations, Customer Service, Human Resources, Knowledge Management, Mergers & Acquisitions and Sales & Marketing.
Connect   


Best's Library Center (A.M. Best)
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: Current  |    Access: UC Only
Best's Library Center provides access to A.M. Best's premier analytical resource, Best's Insurance Reports, available in Property/Casualty, US & Canada; Life/Health, US & Canada; and Non-US editions. It features comprehensive, in-depth AMB Credit Reports on thousands of insurers, reinsurers, and groups in the United States, Canada, and around the world.
Connect   


Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft (BDSL).
  Coverage: 1985 - present  |    Access: UC Only
The most comprehensive bibliography and index of publications on German language and literary studies. Currently there are over 280,000 citations to monographs and to articles and reviews in journals, collected studies, and newspapers. Searching is by author, treated author, treated work, title, publisher, and keyword, with limiting by date, publication type, and up to 18 thematic and chronological categories.
Connect   


Bibliography of American Literature
  Coverage: 1700 - 1930  |    Access: UC Only
The Bibliography of American Literature (9 vols, Yale University Press, 1955-1991) provides nearly 40,000 records (not fulltext but citations)of the literary works of approximately 300 American writers from the period of the Revolution to 1930.
Connect   


Bibliography of Asian Studies
  Coverage: 1971 - present  |    Access: UC Only
The BAS Online contains close to 660,000 references to books, journal articles, individually-authored monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften, etc., published from 1971 until the present day. It encompasses the full content of the annual printed volumes of the BAS from the 1971 to the 1991 editions (the 1991 edition was the last volume available in print form). In addition, there are many references to publications after 1991, including citations to all articles from the 100 most-used journals in Asian studies (up to the present in many cases), and a substantial number of additional citations from earlier years in South Asian studies.
Connect   


Bibliography of British and Irish History
UC Only
The Bibliography of British and Irish History provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present. It is the successor to the Royal Historical Society Bibliography of British and Irish History, available online from 2002 to 2009. The Bibliography is a guide to the work of historians - it does not contain original sources, unless they have been edited and republished by historians (except for a selection of key sources published before 1901 derived from the printed bibliographies published for the Royal Historical Society and the American Historical Association by Oxford University Press). The Bibliography aims to be as comprehensive as is practical for publications since 1900 and has been enriched by co-operation with other projects.
Connect   


Bibliography of Native North Americans
  Coverage: 16th Century - present  |    Access: UC Only
Bibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA) is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. BNNA contains more than 80,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present.
Connect

 Mobile Ready   


Bibliography of the History of Art
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1973 - present  |    Access: Free Access
A database search engine covers European and American art from late antiquity to the present, indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals
Connect   


Bibliography on Gender in Byzantium
Free Access
This resource started out as a bibliography on women in Byzantium, begun by Thalia Gouma-Peterson and maintained by Alice-Mary Talbot. Work on women’s history has recently been supplemented by studies on eunuchs, and a concern for masculinity, which together enable work on the Byzantine gender system. Includes primary and secondary sources, as well as web sites.
Connect   


Biography in Context (formerly Biography Resource Center)
Includes Full Text | UC Only
Biography in Context provides research support with nearly a million biographical entries spanning history and geography. It is a curriculum-aligned resource that offers media-rich content in context that is updated daily to meet the needs of today’s user. It includes: 600,000+ biographies covering more than 525,000 individuals, 50,000 new or updated bios added annually in addition to daily updates to account for awards and events, integrated reference material, periodical information and multimedia content, plus hundreds of hand-crafted topic pages covering the highest-interest features.
Connect   


Biography Reference Bank
Includes Full Text | UC Only
The database combines the complete content of Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated with the complete and enhanced content of Biography Index Plus. Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated contains more than 95,000 biographies and obituaries and more than 26,000 photographs of the subjects. Many of the biographies are enhanced with full text, abstracts, and citations from H. W. Wilson databases. Biography Index Plus is a bibliographic database that cites biographical material appearing in periodicals indexed in other Wilson Company databases and additional selected periodicals, current books of individual and collective biography, and incidental biographical material in otherwise non-biographical books.
Connect

 Mobile Ready   


Biological Abstracts & Previews - see BIOSIS Previews
UC Only
Connect   


BioMed Central
Includes Full Text | Free Access
BioMed Central Ltd., an independent publisher in London, England, provides free access to biomedical research publications. These publications include biology and medicine journal articles, current reports, and meeting abstracts. BioMed Central offers information about current controlled trials, as well as topics in modern biology.
Connect   


BioOne
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: to 2013 for subscribed content  |    Access: UC Only
UC and OhioLINK BioOne is the product of an innovative collaboration between scientific societies, libraries, academe and the private sector. BioOne brings to the Web a uniquely valuable aggregation of the full-texts of high-impact bioscience research journals.Most of these titles are published by small societies and non-commercial publishers, and, until now, have been available only in printed form. BioOne provides integrated, cost-effective access to a thoroughly linked information resource of interrelated journals focused on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences. BioOne also includes a broad selection of the full-texts of 41 peer-reviewed journals and bulletins published by AIBS member societies and other closely related organizations. Use one of the article elements to search on (title, abstract, full-text, etc.). You may also choose one of three Boolean operators (expressed as ALL, ANY, PHRASE in a drop down menu next to each article element) for each string you search. Holdings for BioOne subscribed content cancelled with 2013. Open access content is still available.
Connect   


BIOSIS Citation Index
  Coverage: 1969 - present  |    Access: UC Only
Life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more.
Connect   


BIOSIS Previews
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1969 - present  |    Access: UC Only
BIOSIS Previews (Biological Abstracts), a leading source of life science information, collects abstracts and bibliographic references to worldwide biological and medical literature. Biological Abstracts contains references to journal items focusing on vital biological and medical research findings, pharmacological studies, and discoveries of new organisms. Approximately 5,500 international journals are reviewed for inclusion, representing virtually every life science discipline
Connect   


Biotechnology Research Abstracts
  Coverage: 1993 - present  |    Access: UC Only
Biotechnology Research Abstracts provides access to international research on all aspects of biochemical, medical, and microbial technology as applied to bioengineering, medicine, agriculture and environmental science. Biochemical engineers, fermentation technologists, enzyme technologists, microbiologists, environmental engineers, food processing specialists, pharmacists, physicians, research scientists, and other professionals who work within these areas can turn to this database for up-to-date perspectives on new developments and applications in their fields.
Connect   


Bird Sounds from the Borror Laboratory of Bioacoustics
Free Access
The Borror Laboratory houses one of the largest collections of recorded animal sounds in the world. Founded by the late Dr. Donald Borror, Professor of Entomology and Zoology at The Ohio State University, the collection contains more than 30,000 recordings of over 1000 species of animals.
Connect   


Biz Miner
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: current  |    Access: UC Only
BizMiner provides industry analysis for 16,000 lines of business in 300 U.S. markets. It covers financial profiles, financial ratios, profit and loss profiles, regional business profiles, local market research reports, and retail sales/square foot report.
Connect   


Bloomberg Terminal
  Coverage: Current & Retrospective  |    Access: UC Only
Bloomberg is a dedicated computer terminal for accessing financial data electronically. It seamlessly integrates real-time and historical information on about 5 million bonds, equities, commodities, currencies and funds. It also comprises data on almost every publicly traded company and biographies of more than 1 million people.
Connect   

First | Next |Last

.