UC Libraries

Indexes and Databases

View By Title: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z See All | Browse | Find e-Books

View by Subject:

Search the DB list (Searches the title and description)


30-Records found for the letter L

First | Next |Last


LA Times - Library Edition (ProQuest Digital Microfilm)
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 2008 - present  |    Access: UC Only
ProQuest Digital Microfilm offers select local and national Newspapers in Microform online, where they can accessed simultaneously and remotely by multiple users. Just like traditional microform versions, all of the newspapers are browsable, uncut and in full image—complete with editorials, photos, charts, graphs, and other visual material.
Connect   


LABORDOC
  Coverage: 1919 - present  |    Access: Free Access
The ILO library's catalogue and a major source of information on the world of work. Over 350,000 bibliographic records describing books, journal articles, reports and other publications (including ILO's) covering many work related issues. Some full texts included. Labordoc also provides an ever increasing number of links to online publications available on the Internet. Labordoc also includes thousands of references to journal articles, documents and hard-to-find material from countries around the world giving worldwide coverage to the world of work.
Connect   


Lake Erie's Yesterdays (digital photos)
Free Access
Lake Erie’s Yesterdays (digital photos) is a collection of historic photographs of northwestern Ohio, documenting the local history of the Erie Islands and Lake Erie's western basin. These black and white images were produced by Sandusky, Ohio, commerical photographer Ernst Niebergall between 1909 and 1915. From ice harvesting and railroads to early aviation and island leisure activities, the Niebergall photographs richly depict the everyday lives and activities of Lake Erie's southern shoreline residents. The photographs provide a record of communities in transition as old methods gave way to advances in industry and technology. The original photos are part of the Charles E. Frohman Collection at the Manuscripts Division of the Rutherford B. Hayes Presidential Center.
Connect   


Landsat 7 Satellite Image Server
UC Only
The LANDSAT 7 satellite was launched in April of 1999. This satellite orbits the earth and captures digital snapshots from space. OhioLINK has purchased all Ohio based data captured by Landsat 7 since the first data sets were available, and maintains a standing order for new data as it is captured. A new 'snapshot' of the state is captured every 16 days. A complete 'snapshot' of Ohio is represented by nine Landsat 7 scenes that each represent ground cover approximately 115 miles wide by 106 miles long. Within each scene, nine different 'layers' are captured. (These 'layers' are actually different bands of the electromagnetic spectrum). These are available via FTP for expert users. Additionally these are processed at OhioLINK to create a variety of meaningful products viewable on the web for other academic users and the public. OhioLINK has an ongoing 'subscription' for this data, and will present the data on this web site within 5 days after it is captured by the satellite.
Connect   


Latin Library
Includes Full Text | Free Access
Online texts of works by ancient Latin authors
Connect   


LawEnforcementnetbase
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1986 - Present  |    Access: UC Only
Provides online access to more than 90 essential forensic science and criminal justice reference works.
Connect   


LearnTechLib
Includes Full Text | UC Only
Database of peer-reviewed and published international journal articles and conference papers on the latest research, developments, and applications related to all aspects of educational technology and e-learning. This digital library also includes dissertations, presentation slides, keynote talks, and electronic books
Connect   


Left Index
  Coverage: 1982 - present  |    Access: UC Only
The Left Index (LI) � A complete guide to the diverse literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. A secondary emphasis is on significant but little known sources of news and ideas. Other topics covered include the labor movement, ecology & environment, race & ethnicity, social & cultural theory, sociology, art & aesthetics, philosophy, history, education, law, and globalization. Historically significant early Left publications such as The People (est. NY 1891), and The Class Struggle (1931-1937) along with classic texts by Marx, Lenin, Trotsky, Engels and others, written in the formative years of the Left, also are covered.
Connect

 Mobile Ready   


Legal Collection
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1965 - present  |    Access: UC Only
This database contains full text for nearly 250 of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals. The Legal Collection is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world.
Connect

 Mobile Ready   


Leuven Database of Ancient Books (LDAB)
Free Access
The text database contains at present 12770 Greek and Latin literary texts. The collections database contains at present 1268 entries. The Archives database contains at present 364 entries. The database requires FileMaker Pro.
Connect   


Lewis & Clark: A Journey
Includes Full Text | Free Access
Lewis & Clark: A Journey celebrates the bicentennial of the expedition by providing resources for education and research from the collections of the University Libraries and beyond. This web site includes the complete text of the Biddle edition of the Lewis & Clark Journals, a timeline of the journal, the William Clark Map from the Biddle edition, exhibits highlighting botanical discoveries and important locations on the Missouri River, a pathfinder, and related links
Connect   


Lexicons of Early Modern English
Free Access
Lexicons of Early Modern English (LEME) is a historical database of monolingual, bilingual, and polyglot dictionaries, lexical encyclopedias, hard-word glossaries, spelling lists, and lexically-valuable treatises surviving in print or manuscript from the Tudor, Stuart, Caroline, Commonwealth, and Restoration periods.
Connect   


LexisNexis Academic
Includes Full Text | UC Only
LexisNexis Academic. This service provides Internet access to some of the most popular files of LexisNexis with easy, forms-based searching. There are nearly 20 basic libraries including: General News, Company News Industry & Market News, Company Financial Information Country Profiles, State Profiles, Biographical Information, Reference & Directories Law Reviews, Federal Case Law, Accounting, Auditing & Tax -- Many of the sources available on the traditional plan with some limitations on searching capabilities.
Connect   


LGBT Life with Full Text
Includes Full Text | UC Only
LGBT Life (formerly GLBT Life) is an index to the world's literature regarding gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues. This database contains indexing and abstracts for more than 120 LGBT-specific core periodicals and over 230 LGBT-specific core books and reference works. The product also contains data mined from over 40 priority periodicals and over 1,700 select titles, as well as full text for 50 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, and dozens of full text monographs. The database includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBT Thesaurus containing over 6,300 terms.
Connect

 Mobile Ready   


LGBT Thought and Culture
Includes Full Text | UC Only
LGBT Thought and Culture is an online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day.
Connect   


Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1966 - present  |    Access: UC Only
Library/Information Sciences & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) with Full Text was formerly Information Science & Technology Abstracts (ISTA). EBSCO Publishing continues ISTA's renowned coverage of information science and significantly increases the coverage of library science. 149 ISTA titles are upgraded to Core coverage, and 121 new periodicals are included. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, search engines, printed and electronic information sources, the information industry, scholarly communication, and electronic publishing. LISTA indexes journal articles from more than 600 publications plus books, research reports, and conference proceedings. With coverage extending back to 1966, it is the oldest continuously produced database covering the field of information science.
Connect

 Mobile Ready   


LibraryMusicSource.com
Includes Full Text | UC Only
LibraryMusicSource.com contains over 300,000 pages of sheet music from over 35,000 works including the complete piano music of Chopin, all the songs of Schubert, Schumann and Brahms, all the organ music of J. S. Bach, and the complete orchestra works of Beethoven and Brahms. It also includes all the individual orchestral parts to over 600 standard repertoire works.
Connect   


Life Photographs @ Google
  Coverage: 1750's - present  |    Access: Free Access
Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.
Connect   


Life Sciences Data Archive
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1961 - present  |    Access: Free Access
NASA's Life Sciences Data Archive (LSDA) is a work in progress that provides information and data from space flight experiments funded by the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA). The archive includes investigations from 1961 (Mercury Project) through current missions (International Space Station and Shuttle) involving human, plant and animal studies. The Life Sciences Data Archive is a part of the Human Health and Performance Program of the Exploration Systems Missions Directorate which is dedicated to “safe, sustained, affordable exploration of the Moon, Mars, and beyond..." This site is intended for all audiences, from scientists and teachers to the general space enthusiast.
Connect   


Linda Hall Library's Digital Collections
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1482 to early 20th Century  |    Access: Free Access
The Linda Hall Library's Digital collections consist of books and images from the Linda Hall Library collection. The six collections included are: Star Atlases, A. B. Nichols Panama Canal Materials, Classics and Landmarks, Historical Indexes on American Engineering Topics, and Natural History.
Connect   


Literary Reference Center Plus
Includes Full Text | UC Only
Literary Reference Center Plus is a comprehensive database that provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. LRC combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing.
Connect

 Mobile Ready   


LiteraryMarketPlace.Com
  Coverage: Current  |    Access: UC Only
Literary Market Place (LMP) is the directory of America and Canadian book publishing. For more than 50 years, LMP has been the resource consulted by practically everyone looking for industry data--whether they are publishing professional, authors, industry watchers, or those seeking to gain entry into the world of publishing.
Connect   


Literature Online (LION)
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 600 - present  |    Access: UC Only
Literature Online, is a fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 128 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
Connect   


Literature Resource Center - LRC
Includes Full Text | UC Only
Includes Gales Contemporary Authors Online (biographical coverage of more than 109,000 writer); Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, (entries on all authors appearing in CLC since vol. 95 of the print series and complete profiles of 266 most studied authors from editions prior to vol. 95); and Dictionary of Literary Biography Online (more than 10,000 biocritical essays on authors and their works written by academic scholars). The database also includes selected full-text, excerpted, and commissioned critical material from Gale's respected Literature Criticism and For Students Series.
Connect   


LitFinder
Includes Full Text | UC Only
LitFinder provides the opportunity for complete appreciation and study of great literary works by offering access to more than 135,000 full-text poems, stories, plays and more. It puts complete works - and additional information sources such as biographies, essays and explanations - into the hands of students and researchers for further study, evaluation and enjoyment
Connect   

First | Next |Last

.