UC Libraries

Indexes and Databases

View By Title: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z See All | Browse | Find e-Books

View by Subject:

Search the DB list (Searches the title and description)


54-Records found for the letter S

First | Next |Last


Sabin Americana (1500-1926) Collection Online
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1500-1926  |    Access: UC Only
Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. With over 6 million pages from 29,000 works, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere.
Connect   


Safari Books Online
Includes Full Text | UC Only
Electronic books in computer science, information technology, and related fields. Includes or has links to full text.
Connect

 Mobile Ready   


Safari Books Online (mobile)
Includes Full Text | UC Only
Connect   


Sage Research Methods
Includes Full Text | UC Only
SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SAGE Research Methods links over 100,000 pages of SAGE's book, journal and reference content with advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more.
Connect   


Sage Stats
UC Only
Data from more than 100 different government and non-government sources. Collection of more than 6,000 current and historical data series on on high-interest research topics dating back more than 20 years. Discover, view, and export key information measures for State Stats and Local Stats. Topics including: Agriculture, Crime and Law Enforcement, Defense, Economy, Education, Education and Culture, Employment and Labor, Geography, Government Finances: Federal, Government Finances: State And Local, Health, Households And Housing, Immigration, Population, Population And Politics, Religion, Social Welfare, and Transportation. Product includes: Local Stats, State Stats, and Business Stats.
Connect   


Sanborn Digital Maps
  Coverage: 1867 - 1970  |    Access: UC Only
Sanborn Digital Maps are large scale street plans produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance company from 1867 to 1970. Sanborn Maps show the outline of each building including the location of windows and doors together with street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers. These maps are heavily used in both public and academic libraries by a wide range of researchers including local historians to locate and identify buildings and neighborhoods, urban historians to study the growth of towns and cities, and environmentalists concerned about impact of new developments.
Connect   


Saskia Art History Images
UC Only
Saskia Art History Images is a collection of digital art images with a special emphasis on the core images required for teaching the history of Western Art.
Connect   


Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience
Includes Full Text | UC Only
The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, a unique database detailing the rich tapestry of the African experience throughout the Americas. Explore interdisciplinary topics through in-depth essays; read the seminal research and timelines that accompany each topic; and search for images and film clips to provide another dimension to your research.
Connect   


Science Citation Index Expanded / ISI Web of Science
  Coverage: 1980 - present  |    Access: UC Only
The Science Citation Index (ISI Web of Science) is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes 5,300 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines, covering approximately 2,000 more journals than its SCI print and CD-ROM counterparts, with all cited references captured.
Connect   


Science Online (by Facts on File).
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: current  |    Access: UC Only
Science Online presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive definitions, essays, diagrams, biographies, and experiments. The content is organized by subject area and type of resource, as well as by national and state science education standards. Users can follow an extensive network of hyperlinks and suggested searches either by keyword or phrase to related topics.
Connect   


Science Reference Center
Includes Full Text | UC Only
Topics covered in Science Reference Center include biology, chemistry, earth and space science, environmental science, health and medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science and society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology.
Connect

 Mobile Ready   


Science.gov
Includes Full Text | Free Access
An interagency portal that makes available selected authoritative scientific web sites and databases of technical reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, and other published materials from science agencies throughout the federal government. The web pages and the databases can be searched individually or simulatenously from the search page. Includes links to full text.
Connect   


ScienceDirect e-Books (Elsevier)
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1995 - 2006  |    Access: UC Only
As of 2008, the Elsevier ScienceDirect searchable ebook collection includes more than 1,800 books covering the years 1995-2006. Seven subject categories are included in the collection. The seven subject areas are: Agricultural and Biological Sciences, Chemical Engineering, Computer Science, Energy, Engineering, Environmental Science, and Materials Science.
Connect   


Scientific.Net
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1994 - present  |    Access: UC Only
The database includes the full text of the materials science and engineering publications published by Trans Tech Publications. Included are proceedings (also partially published in paper form), as well as research papers, letters and pre publication notices which are published only electronically. The Trans Tech series included in the database are Advanced Materials Research, Advances in Science and Technology, Applied Mechanics and Materials, Defect and Diffusion Forum, Journal of Metastable and Nanocrystalline Materials, Key Engineering Materials, Materials Science Forum, Materials Science Foundations, and Solid State Phenomena.
Connect   


Scientist, the
UC Only
Indexes "The Scientist"
Connect   


SciFinder (First Time Users Register Here)
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1907 - present  |    Access: UC Only
First time users must register here first. Once registered the user can then access SciFinder Scholar at the next entry. SciFinder Scholar provides access to CAplus, a database of chemical literature and U.S. and foreign chemical-related patents, CASREACT, and the Registry database from Chemical Abstracts Service. It includes journal articles, book chapters, patents, conference proceedings, technical reports, substance database and dissertations covered in Chemical Abstracts as well as articles currently being indexed, book reviews and biographical information. Click “Links to Other Sources” for FULL TEXT
Connect   


SciFinder (Registered Users)
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1907 - present  |    Access: UC Only
Access for registered users. SciFinder Scholar provides access to CAplus, a database of chemical literature and U.S. and foreign chemical-related patents, CASREACT, and the Registry database from Chemical Abstracts Service. It includes journal articles, book chapters, patents, conference proceedings, technical reports, substance database and dissertations covered in Chemical Abstracts as well as articles currently being indexed, book reviews and biographical information. Click “Links to Other Sources” for FULL TEXT
Connect   


Scopus (Elsevier)
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1966 - present  |    Access: UC Only
Indexing, abstracts, and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature. Scopus covers 14,000 titles across 4,000 publishers, providing access to over 25 million abstracts going back to 1966 and 5 years of cited reference back years, building up to 10 years by the end of 2005.
Connect   


Serials Directory
UC Only
The Serials Directory provides access to up-to-date bibliographic information as well as current pricing structures for popular serials. This database contains over 182,000 U.S. and international titles, including newspapers, historical data for an additional 20,000 titles and data from over 85,000 publishers worldwide.
Connect

 Mobile Ready   


Shakespeare in Performance: Prompt Books from the Folger Shakespeare Library
UC Only
Shakespeare in Performance showcases rare and unique prompt books from the world-famous Folger Shakespeare Library. These prompt books tell the story of Shakespeare’s plays as they were performed in theatres throughout Great Britain, the United States and internationally, between the seventeenth and twentieth centuries. Supported by the Charles Phelps Taft Research Center.
Connect   


Sharpe Online Reference
Includes Full Text | UC Only
Offers a unique, interdisciplinary approach to U.S. History and Culture, Sharpe Online Reference (SOLR) explores the broad range of events, people, movements, and political, social, economic, and cultural issues that have shaped the nation from colonial times to the present day. In addition to revised editions of M.E. Sharpe’s award-winning encyclopedias, Sharpe Online Reference includes several special enhancements and online resources—all fully integrated and easy to use—to expand and enrich the research experience.
Connect   


Short Story Index
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: Indexing 1984+, "select" Full Text 1994+  |    Access: UC Only
Short Story Index includes more than 84,000 stories-plus the full text of more than 1,600 stories. For the reader seeking short fiction by a favorite author, the teacher looking for the quintessential example of a particular genre, or the student researching the body of work of a literary figure, Short Story Index is a practical resource. The periodicals included are those indexed in Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature and Humanities Index.
Connect

 Mobile Ready   


Simmons OneView
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: Current  |    Access: UC Only
Simmons One view provides the data collected in “Simmons National Consumer Study”. The study provides 60,000 data variables, usage behavior for all major media, 450+ product categories and 8,000 brands. It provides in-depth demographics, consumer behavior such as psychographics, lifestyle, attitudes and opinions. The study surveys 25,000 adults.
Connect   


SimplyMap
Includes Full Text | UC Only
SimplyMap is a web-based mapping application that lets users quickly create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the United States. First time users must create an account ("personal workspace") to login.
Connect   


Slavery and Manumission Manuscripts of Timbuktu
UC Only
(E-collection available through University Libraries membership in the Center for Research Libraries)From the Biblioth�que Comm�morative Mama Haidara in Timbuktu, Mali, a collection of 19th century manuscripts relating to slavery and manumission in Timbuktu. The materials, in Arabic, provide documentation on Africans in slavery in Muslim societies.
Connect   

First | Next |Last

.