UC Libraries

Indexes and Databases

View By Title: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z See All | Browse | Find e-Books

View by Subject:

Search the DB list (Searches the title and description)


Viewing: 98 total records for the subject: Planning


ABI/INFORM Collection
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1971 - present  |    Access: UC Only
ABI/INFORM Collection is comprised of full-text business periodicals and news sources from ABI/INFORM Global, Dateline, Trade & Industry, and ABI/INFORM Archive. This combination of products, covering different aspects of business information, covers scholarly research, businesses traditions and trends, corporate strategies, management techniques, and competitive and product information. Some periodicals go back as far as 1912.
Connect   

Academic Search Complete
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1865 - present  |    Access: UC Only
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Connect Mobile Ready   

AccessUN
  Coverage: 1966 - present  |    Access: UC Only
Index provides access to current and retrospective United Nations documents and publications.
Connect   

Agricultural & environmental science database
  Coverage: 1960 - present  |    Access: UC Only
This database includes the AGRICOLA, ESPM, and EIS databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more. For those researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.
Connect   

America: History and Life (EBSCO )
  Coverage: 1964 - present  |    Access: UC Only
America: History and Life is a comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. AHL offers abstracts and citations for articles appearing in over 2,000 journals published worldwide in history, related humanities, and the social sciences. Coverage also includes citations to book reviews from approximately 140 major journals of American history and culture, and relevant dissertations from Dissertation Abstracts International.
Connect Mobile Ready   

American FactFinder
Free Access
American FactFinder is a data access and dissemination system that provides useful statistics and facts about your community, your economy, and your society. The system will find and retrieve the information you need from some of the Census Bureau's largest data sets.
Connect   

American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library
Includes Full Text | Free Access
Compiled by the library of Congress, American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. The database contains over 7 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections.
Connect   

APA Style Guide to Electronic References
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: Current  |    Access: UC Only
Expanded and updated from the Electronic Resources section of the Fifth Edition of the Publication Manual, this comprehensive guide offers up-to-date information on formatting electronic references in APA style. With more than 40 example references, the APA Style Guide to Electronic References outlines for students and writers the key elements to include in references to electronic sources, with numerous examples.
Connect   

Architecture and Urban Planning Collection
Free Access
The Architecture and Urban Planning Collection is a growing and diverse collection from many sources. The collection includes images of urban planning projects from China, Africa, Europe, and the U.S. Many of these images represent research projects of the College of Design, Architecture, Art and Planning faculty and students. Images of the built environment are from the Cincinnati Preservation Association, professional and amateur photographers, and from students and staff at the University of Cincinnati.
Connect   

Art Full Text
  Coverage: 1984 - present  |    Access: UC Only
Art Full Text is a comprehensive resource for art information featuring full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, high-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations. Indexing of almost 200,000 art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists. The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus.
Connect Mobile Ready   

Art Index Retrospective, 1929-1984 (Art Retrospective)
  Coverage: 1929-1984  |    Access: UC Only
Art Index Retrospective, 1929 -1984, provides users access to over half a century of art literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art. Content includes high-quality indexing of nearly 600 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed, and citations of over 25,000 book reviews.
Connect Mobile Ready   

Arts:Search
Includes Full Text | UC Only
Indexes: Design Abstract Retrospective (DAR); DesignPROFILES, ReVIEW, and designinform Research Guides. Additional resources include: The Studio, Deutsche Kunst und Dekoration, and Art et Decoration
Connect   

ARTstor
UC Only
ARTstor is a non-profit initiative, founded by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, with a mission to use digital technology to enhance scholarship, teaching and learning in the arts and associated fields. It is a searchable database of more than 300,000 digital images and related data. Combinations of images, data and text provides comprehensive art-related teaching, learning and researching capabilities. Images can be viewed and analyzed through features such as zooming and panning.
Connect Mobile Ready   

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
  Coverage: 1977 - present  |    Access: UC Only
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes more than 1,000 periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture. Updated daily, the Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals covers 1977 to the present, with more than 229,000 records.
Connect Mobile Ready   

Book Review Digest Plus
  Coverage: 1983 - present  |    Access: UC Only
Book Review Digest Plus brings users entries to more than 1.3 million reviews and covers more than 550,000 books.
Connect Mobile Ready   

Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1905-1982
  Coverage: 1905 - 1982  |    Access: UC Only
Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1905-1982 is a vast record of historical, sociological, and literary information. The database covers 300,000 books and cites 1.5 million book reviews. Handy master records for each book include the title's essentials: author, descriptive summary, publisher, publication year, page count, ISBN, indicator of illustrations, and more, plus links to review excerpts and review citations. Virtually every book has at least one substantial review excerpt - most have two or more - presenting the most evaluative passages of the review.
Connect Mobile Ready   

British Library Catalogue
Free Access
Choose: "Search" --> "Advanced Search" --> "Select individual catalogues" to get to the music holdings.
Connect   

Business Insights: Global
UC Only
Powered by a frequently updated and curated collection, Gale Business Insights: Global combines deep research coverage with scholarly journals, business news, and more.
Connect   

Business Source Complete
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1886 - present  |    Access: UC Only
Business database with full text for over 3,600 serials, including over 1,000 peer-reviewed business journals. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Connect Mobile Ready   

Centre for Economic Policy Research: Discussion Papers
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1999 - present  |    Access: UC Only
The Centre for Economic Policy Research (CEPR) is a non-profit, non-partisan network of nearly 600 of the worlds top academic economists. The areas of focus for these discussion papers are in: Financial Economics; Industrial Organization; International Macroeconomics; International Trade; Labour Economics; Public Policy; and Transition Economics.
Connect   

China Data Online
  Coverage: varies on availability of individual statistics  |    Access: UC Only
China Data Online is a comprehensive database and web site focusing on economic statistics of China, arranged by regions and categories. Includes monthly and yearly reports on China's macroeconomic development, statistical databases about China's population and economy at the county and city level, and financial indicators of more than 568 industrial branches. Also includes statistical yearbooks, census data, industrial and marketing surveys, and an atlas of China.
Connect   

Cincinnati Company Profiles and Histories
Includes Full Text | Free Access
This is a bibliography, some with full-text, of books, periodical articles, thesis and dissertations, web literature and company literature. The citations were selected for their heavy emphasis on the company's history. Although considerable effort has been given to making this a comprehensive list, the author would appreciate knowing of any additional materials in this area, please send comments to: Debbie Tenofsky. Book call numbers are for the University of Cincinnati Langsam Library unless otherwise indicated.
Connect   

Cincinnati NEWSDEX
Free Access
Produced by the Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County NEWSDEX provides indexing to Cincinnati newspapers.
Connect   

Columbia Gazetteer of North America
Includes Full Text | Free Access
With 50,000 entries, this most comprehensive encyclopedia of geographical places and features will prove invaluable to anyone for whom places hold fascination and who require accurate data about them.
Connect   

County and City Data Book (U.S. Census Bureau)
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1994 - present  |    Access: Free Access
Data extracted from the book by the same title.
Connect   

CQ Electronic Library
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: varies by database  |    Access: UC Only
CQ electronic library is a reference resource for research in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs. The suite includes CQ Public Affairs Collection, CQ Researcher, CQ Supreme Court Collection, CQ Voting and Elections Collection and CQ Weekly.
Connect   

CQ Public Affairs Collection
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: mid-1960's - present  |    Access: UC Only
CQ Public Affairs Collection brings together CQ's storehouse of current affairs content in a fully integrated reference tool. Some subjects include advocacy and public service, education, energy, the environment, health, and transportation. Provides in-depth reporting on vital issues, statistical and historical analyses, historic documents and primary source materials, as well as a directory of key government, nonprofit, and private organizations in each of the major policy areas.
Connect   

DAAP Digital Image Teaching Collection
UC Only
The DAAP Digital Image Teaching Collection represents core images required to support the DAAP curriculum and that are not available through commercial databases, such as ARTstor. These images span a broad spectrum of the visual arts including contemporary performance artists to urban landscapes. This collection is restricted to educational use by UC faculty, students and staff. You must be using the UC network to view this collection
Connect   

Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI)
  Coverage: 1973 - 2002  |    Access: UC Only
Contains over 130,000 annotated references from more than 500 design and craft journals published between 1973-2002, and data on over 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, and firms. All areas of design and craft are covered, including industrial design, vehicle design, architecture, interior design, environmental design, computer aided design, furniture design, ceramics, glass, jewellery, metalsmithing, silversmithing, goldsmithing, fashion design, textile design, embroidery, graphic design, typography, multimedia design, illustration, book design, photography, advertising, marketing, retail design, packaging, exhibition design, theatre design, design and craft history, design and craft theory, ergonomics, design for disability, design for the elderly, design and craft education and design management.
Connect   

Dissertations & Theses (PQDT)
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1861 - present  |    Access: UC Only
"Dissertations and Theses" includes full-text to over 800,000 dissertations from 1997 forward. The database includes also full-text to all UC dissertations published in electronic format. In addition, the database includes citations to dissertations from 1861-Present and Abstracts from 1980 forward. 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.
Connect   

Dissertations & Theses (UC Electronic)
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1955 - present  |    Access: UC Only
Access to a body of well over 8,000 University of Cincinnati electronic dissertations and theses, this is the best link to the broadest collection of electronic UC dissertations. The time period covers mainly from 1955 to the present. To acquire the dissertations electronically, users request the full text from UMI (ProQuest) and are sent a link and a password to access the dissertation. Dissertations from 1997 forward are available in the OhioLINK ETD at ETD (Electronic Theses and Dissertations)
Connect   

DOE Information Bridge
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1994 - present  |    Access: Free Access
Site provides free, convenient, and quick access to full-text DOE research and development in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental cleanup, energy technologies, and other topics; includes the full-text and bibliographic records of DOE-sponsored report literature produced by the DOE and DOE contractor research and development community.
Connect   

EBSCOhost Ebook Collection
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: Full Text  |    Access: UC Only
Books available to browse, view and check out online.
Connect Mobile Ready   

Econlit
UC Only
The American Economic Association's electronic database, is the world's foremost source of references to economic literature. It is a reliable source of citations and abstracts to economic research dating back to 1969. It provides comprehensive information on accounting, capital markets, econometrics, economic forecasting, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics and much more.
Connect Mobile Ready   

Economic Census (U.S.)
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1997 - present  |    Access: Free Access
The Economic Census profiles American business every 5 years, from the national to the local level. Available online. Also: check the library catalog.
Connect   

eHRAF World Cultures
Includes Full Text | UC Only
The eHRAF World Cultures (formerly called "eHRAF Collection of Ethnography" ) is a cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text documents are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.
Connect   

Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETD) Center (OhioLINK)
Includes Full Text | Free Access
Electronic Thesis and Dissertations.
Connect   

Envirofacts
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: Full Text  |    Access: Free Access
Publicly Available. The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) created the Envirofacts Warehouse to provide the public with direct access to the wealth of information contained in its databases.
Connect   

Environetbase
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1986 - Present  |    Access: UC Only
Provides online access to over 140 Environmental Resources published by Lewis Publishers.
Connect   

Environment Complete
Includes Full Text | UC Only
Environment Complete covers applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Environment Complete contains citations for articles from 1,200 domestic and international journals, as well as 100 monographs. The database provides full text for many of the most used journals in the discipline, and for the conference papers of the North American Association of Environmental Education.
Connect Mobile Ready   

Ergonomics Abstracts
UC Only
Ergonomics Abstracts is a unique online resource and reference tool developed as a result of the continuing collaboration between the Ergonomics Information Analysis Centre at the Taylor & Francis Ergonomics Resource Facility at The University of Birmingham, and Taylor & Francis. It is edited by Chris Baber, supported by the Ergonomics Information Analysis Centre editorial team. Ergonomics Abstracts is a focused, comprehensive, and international abstracting service, spanning the world of ergonomics and human factors. Due to the changing frames of reference in modern scientific research and application, Ergonomics Abstracts is an invaluable and rich source of information for any professional needing information not only on mainstream ergonomics, but also on related material from psychology, physiology, biomechanics, job design, human-computer interaction, safety science, human engineering, medicine, occupational health, sport and transport.
Connect Mobile Ready   

Europa World Plus
UC Only
Europa World Plus is the online version of the Europa World Year Book and the nine-volume Regional Surveys of the World series. First published in 1926, the year book is renowned as one of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories.
Connect   

Expanded Academic ASAP
  Coverage: Full Text  |    Access: UC Only
Access to articles from over 500 full-text journals in all disciplines.
Connect   

Factiva
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1980 - present  |    Access: UC Only
Factiva's business information includes Dow Jones and Reuters Newswires and The Wall Street Journal, plus more than 8,000 other sources from around the world. These sources provide current news, historical articles, local-language articles, and stock quotes. Factiva provides access to more than 900 non-English sources. Factiva provides access to key content in 22 languages from 118 countries not available on the free Web. Many of the full-text articles go back to 1980.
Connect   

Family & Society Studies Worldwide Database
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1970 - present  |    Access: UC Only
The Family & Society Studies Worldwide Database (FSSWD) includes the discontinued Inventory of Marriage and Family (produced by the National Council on Family Relations), the Australian Family & Society Abstracts, the National Clearinghouse on Family Violence, Health Canada and the U.S. Military Family Resource Center Documents Database. FSSWD includes nearly 600,000 records representing professional journals, books, popular literature, conference papers, internet documents, government reports, videos, pamphlets and even unpublished material such as poster sessions and statistical documents. Subjects covered include: families and family therapy, marriage, gender roles, aging, divorce, minorities and demography. Records may be directly exported into ProCite, EndNote or Reference Manager. Many of the records are linked to full text.
Connect Mobile Ready   

Financial Times (Proquest)
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: May 31, 1996 - present  |    Access: UC Only
European financial newspaper known for its in-depth reporting on European company and economic news, as well as its European perspective on global business.
Connect   

Foreign Broadcast Information Service Electronic Index
  Coverage: 1975 - 1996  |    Access: UC Only
An index to the FBIS Daily Reports issued by the U.S. Government covering political, economic, scientific, and cultural issues and events throughout the world. Translations of broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from nations around the world are the sources of this information.
Connect   

Gale Business Insights: Global
UC Only
Gale Business Insights: Global provides, case studies, in-depth statistical data sources, news articles, academic journals and topical reference materials organized by country, company and industry, to users in the global business environment.
Connect   

Geobase
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1973 - present  |    Access: UC Only
GEOBASE is a multidisciplinary database of indexed research literature on the earth sciences, including geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy sources, pollution, waste management and nature conservation. Covering thousands of peer-reviewed journals, trade publications, book series and conference proceedings.
Connect   

Global Development Finance (GDF) Online
  Coverage: 1970 - present  |    Access: Free Access
Global Development Finance Database includes: Country and Summary Tables. The summary tables contain country data for four indicators and regional as well as income group aggregates showing time series in table and chart format. The indicators covered are: external debt, aggregate net resource flow (long term), net flows and transfers on debt, net financial flows from multilateral institutions, international bond issues, new and outstanding.
Connect   

Global Insight (On the Web)
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1960 - present  |    Access: UC Only
Global Insight includes Economic and financial time series going back to the 60's in the following areas: U.S. and Canadian Equities, Financial market indices, Commodities, Money Markets and Fixed Income, International economics, Country data, IMF statistics, OECD Statistics, U.S. Economic data, Economic Indicators, U.S. Prices, Flow of Funds, and U.S. Regional Data. The databse is updated daily.
Connect   

Global Insight (On WRDS)
UC Only
Global Insight database provides data on macroeconomic variables such as national income accounts, balance of payments, foreign debt, exchange rates, money supply and employment - among other national level categories. It also provides data on the IMF series and the OCDE series.
Connect   

Global Road Warrior
Includes Full Text | UC Only
Covers 175 countries. Includes information about: country facts, climate, society and culture, business culture, demographics, money and banking, travel essentials, business capitals, points of interest, security briefing, health and medical, transportation, communications, business services, technical/internet, electrical, embassies/consulates and maps.
Connect   

Google Scholar
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: Varies  |    Access: Free Access
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. If you are unable to access the fulltext of the item, please check with your university library. You may need to do searches from a campus computer or use a library proxy.
Connect   

GPO Monthly Catalog
  Coverage: 1976 - present  |    Access: UC Only
Records published by the U.S. GPO (Government Printing Office) since July 1976. Includes references to congressional reports, debates and executive department documents.
Connect   

Greater Cincinnati Memory project
Free Access
Over 6000 images from the pre-1940 Greater Cincinnati area.
Connect   

GreenFile
UC Only
GreenFILE offers well-researched but accessible information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. GreenFILE is multidisciplinary by nature and draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
Connect Mobile Ready   

Historic Maps of Akron & Summit County
Free Access
Digitized map collection that currently consists of the Atlas and industrial geography of Summit county, Ohio published by Rectigraph Abstract & Title Company; Combination atlas map of Summit county, Ohio published by Tackabury, Mead & Moffett; and Illustrated Summit County, Ohio, published by Akron Map & Atlas Co.
Connect   

History and Archives (OhioLINK Digital Media Center)
Free Access
History & Archives contains various collections of digital pictures, archives, and oral histories from Ohio history.
Connect   

Human Population & Natural Resource Management
  Coverage: 1995 - present  |    Access: UC Only
This database provides fast access to the information essential to meeting this seminal challenge for of the 21st Century. Human Population & Natural Resource Management explores human population and demography topics, as well as societal issues involving natural resource management. Coverage includes relevant papers, reports, books and reviews from standard peer-reviewed scientific journals. To ensure comprehensive coverage, material from conference proceedings and hard-to-find gray literature has also been summarized.
Connect   

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984
  Coverage: 1907 - 1984  |    Access: UC Only
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective is a bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals. Dates covered: 1907 - 1984.
Connect Mobile Ready   

Index to Current Urban Documents
UC Only
The only regularly published guide to the reports and research that are generated by local government agencies, civic organizations, academic and research organizations, public libraries, and metropolitan and regional planning agencies in approximately 500 selected cities in the United States and Canada. It indexes over 2,400 documents providing a spectrum of access to local information.
Connect   

International Bibliography of Book Reviews (IBR Online)
  Coverage: 1985 - present  |    Access: UC Only
IBR contains over 880,000 entries about book reviews from the years 1985-to present. The database is international and interdisciplinary, the reviews have been published in approx. 6,000 academic journals mainly in the Humanities and Social Sciences.
Connect   

Joiner
  Coverage: none  |    Access: UC Only
This is a database flag to join sub subjects from differing main subjects. It will not be shown on a webpage, but just creates a relationship on the backend.
Connect   

JSTOR
Includes Full Text | UC Only
Back files of scholarly journals. Starts with the journals' inception.
Connect   

LexisNexis Academic
Includes Full Text | UC Only
LexisNexis Academic. This service provides Internet access to some of the most popular files of LexisNexis with easy, forms-based searching. There are nearly 20 basic libraries including: General News, Company News Industry & Market News, Company Financial Information Country Profiles, State Profiles, Biographical Information, Reference & Directories Law Reviews, Federal Case Law, Accounting, Auditing & Tax -- Many of the sources available on the traditional plan with some limitations on searching capabilities.
Connect   

Lynda.com (Online video-training library)
UC Only
With more than 1,200 courses taught by industry experts -and more courses added every week-Lynda.com is designed for all levels of learners and is available whenever and wherever the user is ready to learn: anywhere, anytime. The library videos feature software from Adobe, Apple, Autodesk, Blackboard, Facebook, Google, HTML, Microsoft, Open Source, SPSS, Twitter and many more. UC users loging with Central Login credentials.
Connect   

Mango Languages Learning Center
UC Only
Mango Language Learning Center Mango is an online language-learning system that can help you learn languages like Spanish, French, Japanese, Brazilian Portuguese, German, Mandarin Chinese, Greek, Italian, Russian and more. It also offers English language lessons if English is not your first language. The system is divided into modules that have clear goals related to conversation and pronunciation. It uses a variety of teaching methods including flashcards, repetition, and cultural notes. It also contains a translation feature. Click the Start Learning button to try it out. Or create a free Mango profile to log in and track your progress. You will need Java and Flash to use Mango.
Connect Mobile Ready   

Maps on File
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: Current  |    Access: UC Only
Maps-on-File no longer exists as of mid-February 2005. Maps may be found in the Curriculum Resource Center database. Use this url to connect to Curriculum Resouce Center database and then connect to Geography. Here you will find geographical, statistical and historical maps.
Connect   

Mechanical & Transportation Engineering Abstract
UC Only
CSA Mechanical & Transportation Engineering Abstracts provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the serials literature in mechanical and transportation engineering and their complementary fields, including forensic engineering, management and marketing of engineering services, engineering education, theoretical mechanics and dynamics, and mathematics and computation. This database provides in depth, comprehensive coverage of the international engineering literature with the monitoring of over 2,600 serial titles as well as numerous non-serial publications.
Connect   

Nineteenth Century Masterfile
  Coverage: 1802 - 1906  |    Access: UC Only
Nineteenth Century Masterfile (formerly Poole's Plus) describes itself as "the digital index of the nineteenth century." The original component was an online version of W.F. Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, 1802-1906. The database is now enhanced with indices to other periodicals, books, newspapers, and government documents of the 19th century.
Connect   

OmniFile Full Text Mega
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: Full Text; 1982-present  |    Access: UC Only
Full Text Mega Edition is a multi-disciplinary database providing the complete content - indexing, abstracts, and full text - from six of Wilson's full-text databases: Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, Wilson Business Full Text Full-text articles from five additional periodical databases are also included when available: Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, Library Literature & Information Science Full Text Indexing begins in 1982, abstracts in 1984, and full-text coverage in 1994. Each database has its own start dates for indexing, abstracting, and full text; start dates for full-text rights to individual journals vary within a database.
Connect Mobile Ready   

OnArchitecture
UC Only
OnArchitecture is an audiovisual database for institutional users -academics and students-, featuring the main trends in the field of architecture. It is a global scale project, produced by Chilean architects and considering the potential embedded in 1.086 architecture schools and almost 3 million architecture students throughout the world.
Connect   

PAIS (ProQuest)
  Coverage: 1914-present  |    Access: UC Only
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) was established in 1914. There are two databases created from the files: PAIS International and PAIS Archive (now PAIS ProQuest). PAIS International includes records from the print PAIS Bulletin 1977 and forward; it also includes PAIS print Foreign Language Index published 1972-1990, at which time it merged with the PAIS Bulletin. The PAIS International database contains continually updated records for over half a million journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. PAIS (formerly PAIS Archive) is a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, volumes 1-62, published 1915-1976. PAIS (ProQuest)contains over 1.23 million records and covers monographs, periodical articles, notes and announcements, and analytics.
Connect   

PolicyMap
UC Only
PolicyMap is a cloud-base data and mapping platform enabling government, commercial, non-profit and academic institutions to access data about communities and markets across the U.S. It may be used for research, market studies, business planning, site selection, grant applications and impact analysis.
Connect   

Population Index on the Web
  Coverage: 1986 - 2000  |    Access: Free Access
Population Index is the primary reference tool to the world's population literature. It presents an annotated bibliography of recently published books, journal articles, working papers, and other materials on population topics. This website provides a searchable and browsable database containing 46,035 abstracts of demographic literature published in Population Index in the period 1986-2000. Population Index ceased publication in 2000. The website is organized in three major sections: Home (the User's Guide and list of resources), Browse and Search.
Connect   

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (UC Electronic)
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1955 to present  |    Access: UC Only
Access to a body of well over 8,000 University of Cincinnati electronic dissertations and theses, this is the best link to the broadest collection of electronic UC dissertations. The time period covers mainly from 1955 to the present. To acquire the dissertations electronically, users request the full text from UMI (ProQuest) and are sent a link and a password to access the dissertation. Dissertations from 1997 forward are available in the OhioLINK ETD at ETD (Electronic Theses and Dissertations)
Connect   

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1861 - present  |    Access: UC Only
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content.
Connect   

ProQuest Research Library
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1971 - present  |    Access: UC Only
One of the most comprehensive databases available through the ProQuest online system, Research Library provides access to full-text journals across a wide range of subject areas, including business, education, literature, political science, and psychology. The database can be customized to meet the specific needs of many different types of libraries and information centers.
Connect   

ReferenceUSA business historical data files
  Coverage: 1997-present  |    Access: UC Only
The ReferenceUSA business historical data files database, beginning with 1997, is created annually from Infogroup’s U.S. Business Database. A snapshot of the data is saved each December. Records contain company name, mailing address, SIC and NAICS codes, employee size, sales volume, latitude/longitude, and many more variables about each company. Access to this material is restricted to UC faculty, staff, and students for research and reference only.
Connect   

RefWorks
UC Only
With RefWorks users can create their own personal database by importing references from online databases. They can use these references in writing their papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds. As a web-based product, RefWorks is available to users across various platforms including Windows, Mac, Unix, etc. UC users can set up their free individual accounts.
Connect Mobile Ready   

RIBA (The Royal Institute of British Architects) Library Online Catalogue
Free Access
The RIBA online catalogue provides details of material held in the collections of the RIBA Library. It is fully searchable by keyword, author, title, subject, and series, and results can be printed or emailed. It is an index to articles in over 300 of the world's most respected architectural periodicals, details of books and audio visual materials acquired by the RIBA Library and it also indexes the holdings of the RIBA Library Photographs Collection, the RIBA Library Drawings and Archives Collections and a biographical database of architects.
Connect   

Sanborn Digital Maps
  Coverage: 1867 - 1970  |    Access: UC Only
Sanborn Digital Maps are large scale street plans produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance company from 1867 to 1970. Sanborn Maps show the outline of each building including the location of windows and doors together with street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers. These maps are heavily used in both public and academic libraries by a wide range of researchers including local historians to locate and identify buildings and neighborhoods, urban historians to study the growth of towns and cities, and environmentalists concerned about impact of new developments.
Connect   

Scopus (Elsevier)
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1966 - present  |    Access: UC Only
Indexing, abstracts, and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature. Scopus covers 14,000 titles across 4,000 publishers, providing access to over 25 million abstracts going back to 1966 and 5 years of cited reference back years, building up to 10 years by the end of 2005.
Connect   

SimplyMap
Includes Full Text | UC Only
SimplyMap is a web-based mapping application that lets users quickly create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the United States. First time users must create an account ("personal workspace") to login.
Connect   

Social Explorer
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1790-present  |    Access: UC Only
Social Explorer contains historical Census data from 1790 to 2000. Database tools allow you to explore Census data visually through the use of interactive data maps and also browse and download Census data in convenient formats for offline processing. You may explore the data through interactive thematic maps of Census 1790 through Census 2000; then create a report from the view of your interest to see numbers and percent breakdowns. You may also go directly to the reports section and choose the data you wish to view and download. Social Explorer also allows you to create and export map slide shows which is very convenient for viewing data over time.
Connect   

Social Sciences Citation Index
  Coverage: 1980 - present  |    Access: UC Only
Publicly Available. The Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes 1,700 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals.
Connect   

SocINDEX with Full Text
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1895 - present  |    Access: UC Only
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 1,910,000 records with subject headings from a 19,300 term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 397 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1908, and 150 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text for more than 720 books and monographs, and full text for 6,743 conference papers.
Connect Mobile Ready   

Sociological Collection
Includes Full Text | UC Only
The database includes 615 full text titles covering all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.
Connect Mobile Ready   

Toxicology Abstracts
  Coverage: 1981 - present  |    Access: UC Only
1981+ Toxicology Abstracts covers issues from social poisons and substance abuse to natural toxins, from legislation and recommended standards to environmental issues. Surveying the literature for toxicology studies of industrial and agricultural chemicals, household products, pharmaceuticals, and myriad other substances, each issue publishes information concerning the in vivo effects of toxic substances.
Connect   

TOXLINE
  Coverage: 1998 - present  |    Access: UC Only
1994+ TOXLINE on this service offers rapid access to information in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens. This database provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from journal articles, monographs, technical reports, theses, letters, meeting abstracts, papers and reports. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, information in the database is drawn from a number of discrete files including Toxicity Bibliography and Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology. This version of TOXLINE does not contain information from Chemical Abstracts Service, BIOSIS, or International Pharmaceutical Abstracts; furthermore, it is a "rolling 5-year & database," consisting of records from the last 5 years plus the current year.
Connect   

Transportation Research Record
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1996 - present  |    Access: UC Only
A full compilation of papers since the 1996 series of the Transportation Research Record: Journal of the Transportation Research Board (TRR Journal) is accessible electronically. TRB's journal contains technical papers prepared by researchers that are peer-reviewed by TRB committee members. Included are selected papers from the TRB Annual Meetings, along with some papers from other sources and conferences.
Connect Mobile Ready   

U.S. Declassified Documents Online
UC Only
Online access to over 500,000 pages of previously classified government documents. Covering major international events from the Cold War to the Vietnam War and beyond, this single source enables users to locate key information underpinning studies in international relations, American studies, United States foreign and domestic policy studies, journalism and more.
Connect   

Urban Studies Abstracts
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1973 - present  |    Access: UC Only
Urban Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains 40,000 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline, such as: Urban Affairs Review, Urban studies, Journal of Urban Affairs, etc. EBSCO has digitized the full archive of this index, bringing coverage back to 1973.
Connect Mobile Ready   

USA Trade Online
UC Only
Detailed import and export statistics of the United States. Includes current and cumulative export and import data on more than 18,000 commodities that can also be limited by country. Has 2- through 10- digit Harmonized Tariff Schedule detail for commodities in the following data tables: Exports - current month & previous month; Exports - cumulative year to date, current year & prior year; Exports - annual two year, historical; Imports - current month & previous month; Imports - cumulative year to date, current year & prior year; Imports - annual two year, historical.
Connect   

WiserTrade
  Coverage: 1989 - present  |    Access: UC Only
WiserTrade (formerly MiserTrade), is a database of U.S. Trade statistics. The following are some of the series provided: US State Exports by HS, NAICS, SIC, Port; US Customs District Exports Imports by HS; US Exports and Imports by Port by SITC; Japanese Exports and Imports by HS. Some of the annual data goes back to 1989.
Connect   

World Economic Outlook
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: current  |    Access: UC Only
Selected series from the biannual WEO publication. Contains projections and analysis of the economic development and policies of its member countries and global economic system.
Connect   

World News Connection
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: November 1995 - December 31, 2013  |    Access: UC Only
World News Connection (WNC) is an online news service, only accessible via the World Wide Web, that offers an extensive array of translated and English-language news and information. Particularly effective in its coverage of local media sources, WNC provides you with the power to identify what really is happening in a specific country or region. Compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources, the information in WNC covers significant socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events. The information is obtained from full text and summaries of newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports. New information is entered into WNC every government business day. Generally, new information is available within 48-72 hours from the time of original publication or broadcast.
Connect   
.