UC Libraries

Indexes and Databases

View By Title: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z See All | Browse | Find e-Books

View by Subject:

Search the DB list (Searches the title and description)


Viewing: 93 total records for the subject: Architecture and Interior Design


AATA (Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts)
  Coverage: Varies  |    Access: Free Access
AATA Online is a comprehensive database of over 100,000 abstracts of literature related to the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage.
Connect   

Abstracts in Anthropology
  Coverage: 1970 - present  |    Access: UC Only
This major abstracting service provides comprehensive coverage of anthropological scholarship covering cultural anthropology, physical anthropology, archaeology, and linguistics.
Connect   

Abstracts in New Technologies and Engineering (ANTE)
  Coverage: 1981 - present  |    Access: UC Only
ANTE: Abstracts in New Technologies and Engineering (formerly Current Technology Database), is an abstracting and indexing service monitoring approximately 350 academic and trade publications from the U.K. and the U.S. Coverage includes new technologies such as information technology and computing, electronics, biotechnology, medical technology, as well as engineering (including construction, electrical and chemical engineering) and allied subject areas. Abstracts are available from January 1993 to the present.
Connect   

Academic Search Complete
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1865 - present  |    Access: UC Only
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Connect Mobile Ready   

ACLS Humanities E-Book
Includes Full Text | Free Access
Humanities E-Book is an online collection of over 1500 books of high quality, covering most humanities disciplines and area studies. These are works of major importance, from 250 publishers, that remain vital to both scholars and advanced students, and are frequently cited in the literature. HEB now adds approximately 300 books annually to the collection. Titles come from 250 publishers and have been selected by eleven ACLS learned societies or reviewed by a panel of distinguished scholars. HEB currently works with nearly 80 university presses. Humanities E-Book was formerly known as the History E-Book Project.
Connect   

ACM Digital Library
Includes Full Text | UC Only
Full-text articles from ACM journals, magazines and conference proceedings. Most full-text go back to volume 1 of the publication. Subjects include: Artificial Intelligence, Computer Simulation, Computer Systems, Database Systems, Design Automation, Information Systems, Mathematical Software, Networking, Networks, Programming Languages, and Software Engineering.
Connect   

America: History and Life (EBSCO )
  Coverage: 1964 - present  |    Access: UC Only
America: History and Life is a comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. AHL offers abstracts and citations for articles appearing in over 2,000 journals published worldwide in history, related humanities, and the social sciences. Coverage also includes citations to book reviews from approximately 140 major journals of American history and culture, and relevant dissertations from Dissertation Abstracts International.
Connect Mobile Ready   

American FactFinder
Free Access
American FactFinder is a data access and dissemination system that provides useful statistics and facts about your community, your economy, and your society. The system will find and retrieve the information you need from some of the Census Bureau's largest data sets.
Connect   

Anthropology Plus
  Coverage: 1800 - present  |    Access: UC Only
This database brings together into one resource the highly respected Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and the Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. It provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers excellent coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals.
Connect Mobile Ready   

AP Images
Includes Full Text | UC Only
Associated Press archive of photographs, from 1844 to the present, audio files of radio broadcasts, texts of wire stories, and info-graphics. The Photo Archive features state, regional and national photos from North America, as well as international photos all available moments after they move on the AP's spot picture system. An average of 800 photos a day feed into the Photo Archive, and remain there for a minimum of one year.
Connect   

Applied Mechanics Reviews
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 2001 - present  |    Access: UC Only
An international review journal, AMR features include: Review Articles, which organize, summarize and clarify knowledge as it currently exists in the technical literature; Retrospectives where authors look back on their work and areas of interest; Book Reviews (20-25/issue); and Book Notes (35-40/issue), which describe newly published books.
Connect   

Architecture and Urban Planning Collection
Free Access
The Architecture and Urban Planning Collection is a growing and diverse collection from many sources. The collection includes images of urban planning projects from China, Africa, Europe, and the U.S. Many of these images represent research projects of the College of Design, Architecture, Art and Planning faculty and students. Images of the built environment are from the Cincinnati Preservation Association, professional and amateur photographers, and from students and staff at the University of Cincinnati.
Connect   

Art and Architecture from the University of Cincinnati
Free Access
Includes works by Eisenman, Fellheimer & Wagner, Latrobe, Elizabeth Nourse, and Frank Lloyd Wright
Connect   

Art and Architecture from the University of Cincinnati (OhioLink Digital Resource Commons)
UC Only
Approximately 3000 art and architectural images. Collections include: Greek and Roman architecture and sculpture, Minoan Art, Brueghel and Reubens paintings from the Kunsthistorisches Museum in Vienna, works of Michelangelo, and selected images from the following art history textbooks: Gardner's Art Through the Ages, Stokstad's History of Art, Gilbert's Living with Art, Hartt's History of Italian Renaissance Art.
Connect   

Art Full Text
  Coverage: 1984 - present  |    Access: UC Only
Art Full Text is a comprehensive resource for art information featuring full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, high-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations. Indexing of almost 200,000 art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists. The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus.
Connect Mobile Ready   

Art Index Retrospective, 1929-1984 (Art Retrospective)
  Coverage: 1929-1984  |    Access: UC Only
Art Index Retrospective, 1929 -1984, provides users access to over half a century of art literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art. Content includes high-quality indexing of nearly 600 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed, and citations of over 25,000 book reviews.
Connect Mobile Ready   

ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM)
  Coverage: 1974 - present  |    Access: UC Only
Abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews...Covers all aspects of modern and contemporary art, including performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theater arts, crafts, jewelry, illustration, and more, as well as the traditional fine arts of painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing.
Connect   

ARTFL Project
Includes Full Text | UC Only
OhioLINK provides access to the ARTFL database of texts and other electronic resources, including several historical dictionaries. �At present the corpus consists of nearly 2000 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth centuries are about equally represented, with a smaller selection of seventeenth century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts.� (From ARTFL General Information).
Connect   

Arts and Humanities Citation Index
  Coverage: 1980 - present  |    Access: UC Only
Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It indexes 1,100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.
Connect   

Arts:Search
Includes Full Text | UC Only
Indexes: Design Abstract Retrospective (DAR); DesignPROFILES, ReVIEW, and designinform Research Guides. Additional resources include: The Studio, Deutsche Kunst und Dekoration, and Art et Decoration
Connect   

ARTstor
UC Only
ARTstor is a non-profit initiative, founded by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, with a mission to use digital technology to enhance scholarship, teaching and learning in the arts and associated fields. It is a searchable database of more than 300,000 digital images and related data. Combinations of images, data and text provides comprehensive art-related teaching, learning and researching capabilities. Images can be viewed and analyzed through features such as zooming and panning.
Connect Mobile Ready   

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
  Coverage: 1977 - present  |    Access: UC Only
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes more than 1,000 periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture. Updated daily, the Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals covers 1977 to the present, with more than 229,000 records.
Connect Mobile Ready   

Biography in Context (formerly Biography Resource Center)
Includes Full Text | UC Only
Biography in Context provides research support with nearly a million biographical entries spanning history and geography. It is a curriculum-aligned resource that offers media-rich content in context that is updated daily to meet the needs of today’s user. It includes: 600,000+ biographies covering more than 525,000 individuals, 50,000 new or updated bios added annually in addition to daily updates to account for awards and events, integrated reference material, periodical information and multimedia content, plus hundreds of hand-crafted topic pages covering the highest-interest features.
Connect   

Book Review Digest Plus
  Coverage: 1983 - present  |    Access: UC Only
Book Review Digest Plus brings users entries to more than 1.3 million reviews and covers more than 550,000 books.
Connect Mobile Ready   

Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1905-1982
  Coverage: 1905 - 1982  |    Access: UC Only
Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1905-1982 is a vast record of historical, sociological, and literary information. The database covers 300,000 books and cites 1.5 million book reviews. Handy master records for each book include the title's essentials: author, descriptive summary, publisher, publication year, page count, ISBN, indicator of illustrations, and more, plus links to review excerpts and review citations. Virtually every book has at least one substantial review excerpt - most have two or more - presenting the most evaluative passages of the review.
Connect Mobile Ready   

British Library Catalogue
Free Access
Choose: "Search" --> "Advanced Search" --> "Select individual catalogues" to get to the music holdings.
Connect   

BuildingGreen.com
Includes Full Text | UC Only
Designed to help building-industry professionals design and build construction projects from a whole-systems perspective and take an integrated design approach that minimizes ecological impact and maximizes economic performance. Includes access to Environmental building news articles, lists for GreenSpec products and specification guidelines, detailed project case studies from the High-Performance Buildings Database, and publications from BuildingGreen Pittsburgh papers.
Connect   

Business Source Complete
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1886 - present  |    Access: UC Only
Business database with full text for over 3,600 serials, including over 1,000 peer-reviewed business journals. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Connect Mobile Ready   

caa.reviews
Includes Full Text | UC Only
caa.reviews is an online journal devoted to the peer review of new books, museum exhibitions, and projects relevant to the fields of art history, visual studies, and the arts.
Connect   

CAMIO - Catalog of Art Images Online
Includes Full Text | Free Access
CAMIO fills the gap left by the end of operations of the Art Museum Image Consortium (AMICO). This new database not only supports art history, studio art, and design departments, it also provides rich context for history, religion, and other humanities programs. It covers antiquity to the present, and includes photographs, paintings, sculpture, decorative and utilitarian objects, prints, drawings and watercolors, jewelry and costumes, textiles, books, installations, and architecture - plus audio-video and mixed media.
Connect   

Census of Antique Works of Art and Architecture
Includes Full Text | UC Only
This very elaborate multi-tiered database has more than 20,000 Renaissance Documents related to more than 10,000 Antique Monuments that are accompanied by 30,000 photographs or illustrations. The database can be utilized for its collection of images, but more extensive information is provided in the database about the monuments and documents. (Special note: At the entry page click on the "IP-Access" box and then the "Start" button. On the next page, select "Census" in the first box and "English" in the second box. If prompted for a password, contact the Classics Library at 556-1315.)Click here for a guide.
Connect   

County and City Data Book (U.S. Census Bureau)
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1994 - present  |    Access: Free Access
Data extracted from the book by the same title.
Connect   

CultureGrams
  Coverage: Current  |    Access: UC Only
Culturegrams online includes the World edition with 182 country reports including information on the culture and customs, maps, statistics, images and sound files. The online database also includes electronic versions of the States and Kids Editions, as well as the Photo Gallery, Famous People, and Recipe Collection.
Connect   

DAAP Digital Image Teaching Collection
UC Only
The DAAP Digital Image Teaching Collection represents core images required to support the DAAP curriculum and that are not available through commercial databases, such as ARTstor. These images span a broad spectrum of the visual arts including contemporary performance artists to urban landscapes. This collection is restricted to educational use by UC faculty, students and staff. You must be using the UC network to view this collection
Connect   

Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI)
  Coverage: 1973 - 2002  |    Access: UC Only
Contains over 130,000 annotated references from more than 500 design and craft journals published between 1973-2002, and data on over 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, and firms. All areas of design and craft are covered, including industrial design, vehicle design, architecture, interior design, environmental design, computer aided design, furniture design, ceramics, glass, jewellery, metalsmithing, silversmithing, goldsmithing, fashion design, textile design, embroidery, graphic design, typography, multimedia design, illustration, book design, photography, advertising, marketing, retail design, packaging, exhibition design, theatre design, design and craft history, design and craft theory, ergonomics, design for disability, design for the elderly, design and craft education and design management.
Connect   

Digital Resource Commons (OhioLINK DRC)
UC Only
Ohio campuses are treasure troves of knowledge, but valuable resources are often hidden. The award-winning Ohio Digital Resource Commons (DRC) provides a robust, statewide platform for saving, discovering and sharing-free of charge-the instructional, research, historic and creative materials produced by the University System of Ohio and Ohio's private colleges.
Connect   

Dissertations & Theses (PQDT)
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1861 - present  |    Access: UC Only
"Dissertations and Theses" includes full-text to over 800,000 dissertations from 1997 forward. The database includes also full-text to all UC dissertations published in electronic format. In addition, the database includes citations to dissertations from 1861-Present and Abstracts from 1980 forward. 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.
Connect   

Dissertations & Theses (UC Electronic)
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1955 - present  |    Access: UC Only
Access to a body of well over 8,000 University of Cincinnati electronic dissertations and theses, this is the best link to the broadest collection of electronic UC dissertations. The time period covers mainly from 1955 to the present. To acquire the dissertations electronically, users request the full text from UMI (ProQuest) and are sent a link and a password to access the dissertation. Dissertations from 1997 forward are available in the OhioLINK ETD at ETD (Electronic Theses and Dissertations)
Connect   

EBSCOhost Ebook Collection
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: Full Text  |    Access: UC Only
Books available to browse, view and check out online.
Connect Mobile Ready   

Electronic Journal Center (OhioLINK)
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: Full Text  |    Access: UC Only
Includes electronic titles from Academic Press, American Physical Society (APS), Elsevier Science, Institute of Physics (IOP), Kluwer, MCB, MUSE, Royal Society of Chemistry, Springer-Verlag and Wiley - currently about 2500 titles.
Connect   

Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETD) Center (OhioLINK)
Includes Full Text | Free Access
Electronic Thesis and Dissertations.
Connect   

Envirofacts
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: Full Text  |    Access: Free Access
Publicly Available. The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) created the Envirofacts Warehouse to provide the public with direct access to the wealth of information contained in its databases.
Connect   

Environment Complete
Includes Full Text | UC Only
Environment Complete covers applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Environment Complete contains citations for articles from 1,200 domestic and international journals, as well as 100 monographs. The database provides full text for many of the most used journals in the discipline, and for the conference papers of the North American Association of Environmental Education.
Connect Mobile Ready   

Ergonomics Abstracts
UC Only
Ergonomics Abstracts is a unique online resource and reference tool developed as a result of the continuing collaboration between the Ergonomics Information Analysis Centre at the Taylor & Francis Ergonomics Resource Facility at The University of Birmingham, and Taylor & Francis. It is edited by Chris Baber, supported by the Ergonomics Information Analysis Centre editorial team. Ergonomics Abstracts is a focused, comprehensive, and international abstracting service, spanning the world of ergonomics and human factors. Due to the changing frames of reference in modern scientific research and application, Ergonomics Abstracts is an invaluable and rich source of information for any professional needing information not only on mainstream ergonomics, but also on related material from psychology, physiology, biomechanics, job design, human-computer interaction, safety science, human engineering, medicine, occupational health, sport and transport.
Connect Mobile Ready   

ERIC (EBSCOhost)
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1966 - present  |    Access: UC Only
ERIC indexes education-related literature, beginning in 1966. The ERIC database is the world's largest source of education information, containing abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice. The database covers descriptions and evaluations of programs, research reports and surveys, curriculum and teaching guides, instructional materials, position papers, and resource materials. In 1993, ERIC began indexing education-related books, including the output of major publishers. More recently it includes full-text non-journal documents (issued 1993-present). ERIC may be accessed directly at http://www.eric.ed.gov. To take advantage of many links to full-text documents through OhioLINK, use the connect below.
Connect Mobile Ready   

Family & Society Studies Worldwide Database
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1970 - present  |    Access: UC Only
The Family & Society Studies Worldwide Database (FSSWD) includes the discontinued Inventory of Marriage and Family (produced by the National Council on Family Relations), the Australian Family & Society Abstracts, the National Clearinghouse on Family Violence, Health Canada and the U.S. Military Family Resource Center Documents Database. FSSWD includes nearly 600,000 records representing professional journals, books, popular literature, conference papers, internet documents, government reports, videos, pamphlets and even unpublished material such as poster sessions and statistical documents. Subjects covered include: families and family therapy, marriage, gender roles, aging, divorce, minorities and demography. Records may be directly exported into ProCite, EndNote or Reference Manager. Many of the records are linked to full text.
Connect Mobile Ready   

Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index
UC Only
Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index(tm) (GLHI) is the premier resource for access to articles about plants and gardens. Topics include horticulture, garden and landscape design and history, botany, ecology, plant and garden conservation, garden management, and horticultural therapy. This index and abstract product is designed for gardening enthusiasts, professionals, and students of horticulture and of garden and landscape design and history. Indexed and abstracted are more than 300 core titles, the majority of which are published in English.
Connect Mobile Ready   

Google Scholar
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: Varies  |    Access: Free Access
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. If you are unable to access the fulltext of the item, please check with your university library. You may need to do searches from a campus computer or use a library proxy.
Connect   

Greater Cincinnati Memory project
Free Access
Over 6000 images from the pre-1940 Greater Cincinnati area.
Connect   

GreenFile
UC Only
GreenFILE offers well-researched but accessible information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. GreenFILE is multidisciplinary by nature and draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
Connect Mobile Ready   

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984
  Coverage: 1907 - 1984  |    Access: UC Only
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective is a bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals. Dates covered: 1907 - 1984.
Connect Mobile Ready   

Humanities Index (formerly BHI)
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1962 - present  |    Access: UC Only
British Humanities Index is an international abstracting and indexing tool for research in the humanities, BHI indexes over 320 internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK.
Connect   

Humanities International Complete
Includes Full Text | UC Only
Humanities International Complete is a comprehensive database of humanities content, providing full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from American Humanities Index and Humanities International Index (over 1.6 million records) plus unique full text content.
Connect Mobile Ready   

Index to 19th Century American Art Periodicals
  Coverage: 1840 - 1907  |    Access: UC Only
Indexes 42 art journals published in the U.S. during the 19th century, (1840-1907) providing nearly complete coverage of journals from this period. The index describes the entire journal contents: articles, art notes, illustrations, stories, poems, and advertisements; and offers information on popular culture and industry, artists and illustrators, painting, sculpture, drawing, photography, architecture and design, exhibitions and sales, decorations, and collecting. The file includes 27,000 records.
Connect Mobile Ready   

Index to Current Urban Documents
UC Only
The only regularly published guide to the reports and research that are generated by local government agencies, civic organizations, academic and research organizations, public libraries, and metropolitan and regional planning agencies in approximately 500 selected cities in the United States and Canada. It indexes over 2,400 documents providing a spectrum of access to local information.
Connect   

International Bibliography of Book Reviews (IBR Online)
  Coverage: 1985 - present  |    Access: UC Only
IBR contains over 880,000 entries about book reviews from the years 1985-to present. The database is international and interdisciplinary, the reviews have been published in approx. 6,000 academic journals mainly in the Humanities and Social Sciences.
Connect   

JSTOR
Includes Full Text | UC Only
Back files of scholarly journals. Starts with the journals' inception.
Connect   

Knovel
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: varies by title  |    Access: UC Only
Provides leading science and engineering books, conferences, and databases embedded with productivity tools in one online service. The Knovel product provides the ability to interact with the data, deep searchability, valuable subject collections through aggregation, and continuing expanding content. Approximately 500 books are included in the collection at the end of 2003.
Connect   

Left Index
  Coverage: 1982 - present  |    Access: UC Only
The Left Index (LI) � A complete guide to the diverse literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. A secondary emphasis is on significant but little known sources of news and ideas. Other topics covered include the labor movement, ecology & environment, race & ethnicity, social & cultural theory, sociology, art & aesthetics, philosophy, history, education, law, and globalization. Historically significant early Left publications such as The People (est. NY 1891), and The Class Struggle (1931-1937) along with classic texts by Marx, Lenin, Trotsky, Engels and others, written in the formative years of the Left, also are covered.
Connect Mobile Ready   

Life Photographs @ Google
  Coverage: 1750's - present  |    Access: Free Access
Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.
Connect   

Lynda.com (Online video-training library)
UC Only
With more than 1,200 courses taught by industry experts -and more courses added every week-Lynda.com is designed for all levels of learners and is available whenever and wherever the user is ready to learn: anywhere, anytime. The library videos feature software from Adobe, Apple, Autodesk, Blackboard, Facebook, Google, HTML, Microsoft, Open Source, SPSS, Twitter and many more. UC users loging with Central Login credentials.
Connect   

MAD CAD
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 2001 -   |    Access: UC Only
Click on Login from the first screen. MAD CAD is a subscription based, online reference database that contains cross-referenced collections of building, electrical, mechanical, plumbing, fire, and maintenance codes from BOCA, SBCCI, ICBO, ICC, and NFPA.
Connect   

Mango Languages Learning Center
UC Only
Mango Language Learning Center Mango is an online language-learning system that can help you learn languages like Spanish, French, Japanese, Brazilian Portuguese, German, Mandarin Chinese, Greek, Italian, Russian and more. It also offers English language lessons if English is not your first language. The system is divided into modules that have clear goals related to conversation and pronunciation. It uses a variety of teaching methods including flashcards, repetition, and cultural notes. It also contains a translation feature. Click the Start Learning button to try it out. Or create a free Mango profile to log in and track your progress. You will need Java and Flash to use Mango.
Connect Mobile Ready   

Maps on File
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: Current  |    Access: UC Only
Maps-on-File no longer exists as of mid-February 2005. Maps may be found in the Curriculum Resource Center database. Use this url to connect to Curriculum Resouce Center database and then connect to Geography. Here you will find geographical, statistical and historical maps.
Connect   

Material ConneXion database
UC Only
Material ConneXion is the world's leading knowledge base for information about new and innovative materials. The database provides comprehensive information about over 3,500 innovative materials and processes, with more being added each month.
Connect   

Materials Business File
  Coverage: 1985 - present  |    Access: UC Only
Materials Business File focuses on industry news, international trade data, government regulations and management issues related to the metals and materials industries. Citations for this database are pulled from 2,000 journals, plus patents, dissertations, government reports, conference proceedings, and books indexed by expert editors from Materials Information. Begun in 1985, Materials Business File is the database equivalent of the bulletins Steels Alert, Polymers/Ceramics/Composites Alert and Nonferrous Metals Alert. Together they cover new technologies, new materials and other industry developments reported in the press.
Connect   

Materials Research Database
  Coverage: 1966 - present  |    Access: UC Only
Brings together in one place the majority of the leading materials science databases, with specialist content on materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering application. Everything from raw materials and refining through processing, welding and fabrication to end us, corrosion, performance and recycling is covered in depth for all metals, alloys, polymers, ceramics, and composites. Incluides over 3,000 primary journals plus trade literature, patents, newspapers, press releases, conference proceedings, books and reports.
Connect   

Materials Safety Data Sheets (MSDS)
UC Only
Database containing nearly 90,000 material safety data sheets (MSDS) from the Sigma-Aldrich family of companies. These documents clearly define each product giving its composition, identifying any hazardous properties, outlining first-aid treatment in case of accidental body contact and even pointing out special fire fighting procedures that might be needed. In addition, there are MSDS suggestions for responding to an accidental release of the compound, for everyday product handling and storage, as well as for personal protection against exposure to the product.
Connect   

Materialsnetbase
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1986 - Present  |    Access: UC Only
A dynamic, ever-growing online library dedicated to the theory, data, and applications of Materials Science.
Connect   

Mathnetbase
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1986 - Present  |    Access: UC Only
Provides access to over 80 top Chapman & Hall/CRC resources, including 47 handbooks in the area of applied mathematics.
Connect   

MathSciNet
UC Only
Math reviews.
Connect   

MathWorld from Wolfram Research (Eric Weisstein's World of Mathematics
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: Current  |    Access: Free Access
MathWorld is a comprehensive and interactive mathematics encyclopedia intended for students, educators, math enthusiasts, and researchers. The site is continuously updated to include new material and incorporate new discoveries. There is a subject index and an alphabetic index. Each entry includes reference links. Contains LiveGraphics3D interactive Java applets which allow 3D solids to be viewed inside your browser window. MathWorld is a free service for the mathematical community.
Connect   

MatWeb
  Coverage: current  |    Access: Free Access
MatWeb is an online materials information resource. The heart of MatWeb is a searchable database of material data sheets, including property information on thermoplastic and thermoset polymers such as ABS, nylon, polycarbonate, polyester, polyethylene and polypropylene; metals such as aluminum, cobalt, copper, lead, magnesium, nickel,steel, superalloys, titanium and zinc alloys; ceramics; plus semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials. There are over 59,000 data sheets in the collection.
Connect   

Mayan Archaeology Photographs
Free Access
Mayan Archeology Digital Photographs is a collection of digital photographs of Mayan archeology. This collection shows Mayan architecture and scenery from Mexico, Honduras, and Guatemala. As a resource for the exploration of the various and complex interrelationships within Mayan society, the Mayan archaeology collection serves as basic image resource which the creators hope will be augmented by other scholars in the field.
Connect   

Metis: QVTR Ancient Greek Archaeological Sites
Free Access
Images from many Greek archaeological sites.
Connect   

New York Public Library Picture Collection Online
Free Access
A collection of 30,000 digitized images from books, magazines and newspapers as well as original photographs, prints and postcards, mostly created before 1923.
Connect   

Nineteenth Century Masterfile
  Coverage: 1802 - 1906  |    Access: UC Only
Nineteenth Century Masterfile (formerly Poole's Plus) describes itself as "the digital index of the nineteenth century." The original component was an online version of W.F. Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, 1802-1906. The database is now enhanced with indices to other periodicals, books, newspapers, and government documents of the 19th century.
Connect   

NYPL Digital Gallery
Free Access
The New York Public Library Digital Gallery provides access to over 600,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of the New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more.
Connect   

OmniFile Full Text Mega
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: Full Text; 1982-present  |    Access: UC Only
Full Text Mega Edition is a multi-disciplinary database providing the complete content - indexing, abstracts, and full text - from six of Wilson's full-text databases: Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, Wilson Business Full Text Full-text articles from five additional periodical databases are also included when available: Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, Library Literature & Information Science Full Text Indexing begins in 1982, abstracts in 1984, and full-text coverage in 1994. Each database has its own start dates for indexing, abstracting, and full text; start dates for full-text rights to individual journals vary within a database.
Connect Mobile Ready   

OnArchitecture
UC Only
OnArchitecture is an audiovisual database for institutional users -academics and students-, featuring the main trends in the field of architecture. It is a global scale project, produced by Chilean architects and considering the potential embedded in 1.086 architecture schools and almost 3 million architecture students throughout the world.
Connect   

Project MUSE
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: Full Text; 1995 - present  |    Access: UC Only
Access to articles from over 40 journals in the humanities starting in 1995.
Connect   

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (UC Electronic)
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1955 to present  |    Access: UC Only
Access to a body of well over 8,000 University of Cincinnati electronic dissertations and theses, this is the best link to the broadest collection of electronic UC dissertations. The time period covers mainly from 1955 to the present. To acquire the dissertations electronically, users request the full text from UMI (ProQuest) and are sent a link and a password to access the dissertation. Dissertations from 1997 forward are available in the OhioLINK ETD at ETD (Electronic Theses and Dissertations)
Connect   

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1861 - present  |    Access: UC Only
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content.
Connect   

PsycINFO
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1872-present  |    Access: UC Only
PsycINFO, produced by the American Psychological Association, is a collection of electronically stored bibliographic references--most with abstracts or content summaries. It contains citations that PsycINFO has created in electronic form. Although the references themselves are all written in English, the covered literature includes material published in over 45 countries and written in 30 languages.
Connect Mobile Ready   

RIBA (The Royal Institute of British Architects) Library Online Catalogue
Free Access
The RIBA online catalogue provides details of material held in the collections of the RIBA Library. It is fully searchable by keyword, author, title, subject, and series, and results can be printed or emailed. It is an index to articles in over 300 of the world's most respected architectural periodicals, details of books and audio visual materials acquired by the RIBA Library and it also indexes the holdings of the RIBA Library Photographs Collection, the RIBA Library Drawings and Archives Collections and a biographical database of architects.
Connect   

Robert A. Deshon Courthouses Collection
Free Access
For many years, architect and University of Cincinnati professor, Robert A. Deshon (1915-2007), photographed courthouses throughout Ohio, Indiana, Kentucky and West Virginia. The contents of this initial collection of 559 images are from the holdings of the Ohio Historical Society Library
Connect   

Sanborn Digital Maps
  Coverage: 1867 - 1970  |    Access: UC Only
Sanborn Digital Maps are large scale street plans produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance company from 1867 to 1970. Sanborn Maps show the outline of each building including the location of windows and doors together with street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers. These maps are heavily used in both public and academic libraries by a wide range of researchers including local historians to locate and identify buildings and neighborhoods, urban historians to study the growth of towns and cities, and environmentalists concerned about impact of new developments.
Connect   

Scopus (Elsevier)
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1966 - present  |    Access: UC Only
Indexing, abstracts, and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature. Scopus covers 14,000 titles across 4,000 publishers, providing access to over 25 million abstracts going back to 1966 and 5 years of cited reference back years, building up to 10 years by the end of 2005.
Connect   

SocINDEX with Full Text
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1895 - present  |    Access: UC Only
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 1,910,000 records with subject headings from a 19,300 term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 397 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1908, and 150 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text for more than 720 books and monographs, and full text for 6,743 conference papers.
Connect Mobile Ready   

Sociological Collection
Includes Full Text | UC Only
The database includes 615 full text titles covering all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.
Connect Mobile Ready   

Stylesight
Includes Full Text | UC Only
Now merged with WGSN
Connect   

Urban Studies Abstracts
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1973 - present  |    Access: UC Only
Urban Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains 40,000 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline, such as: Urban Affairs Review, Urban studies, Journal of Urban Affairs, etc. EBSCO has digitized the full archive of this index, bringing coverage back to 1973.
Connect Mobile Ready   

Victorian Database Online
  Coverage: 1945 - present  |    Access: UC Only
Search over 100,000 records listing books, articles, and dissertation abstracts published from 1945 to the present on every field of nineteenth-century British studies.
Connect   
.