UC Libraries

Indexes and Databases

View By Title: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z See All | Browse | Find e-Books

View by Subject:

Search the DB list (Searches the title and description)


Viewing: 75 total records for the subject: Art


AATA (Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts)
  Coverage: Varies  |    Access: Free Access
AATA Online is a comprehensive database of over 100,000 abstracts of literature related to the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage.
Connect   

Academic Search Complete
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1865 - present  |    Access: UC Only
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Connect Mobile Ready   

ACLS Humanities E-Book
Includes Full Text | Free Access
Humanities E-Book is an online collection of over 1500 books of high quality, covering most humanities disciplines and area studies. These are works of major importance, from 250 publishers, that remain vital to both scholars and advanced students, and are frequently cited in the literature. HEB now adds approximately 300 books annually to the collection. Titles come from 250 publishers and have been selected by eleven ACLS learned societies or reviewed by a panel of distinguished scholars. HEB currently works with nearly 80 university presses. Humanities E-Book was formerly known as the History E-Book Project.
Connect   

Ad*Access
Free Access
The Ad*Access Project, funded by the Duke Endowment "Library 2000" Fund, presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Ad*Access concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II, providing a coherent view of a number of major campaigns and companies through images preserved in one particular advertising collection available at Duke University.
Connect   

Advertising Archives: Historical & Current Print Ads
Free Access
The Advertising Archives was established in 1990 by Larry and Suzanne Viner and is the largest and most comprehensive resource of its kind in Europe. The collection comprises over 1 million catalogued images – 50,000 of which are searchable online. This includes press and TV advertising, magazine covers, cinema posters, ephemera, and comics and chidren's annuals.
Connect   

American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library
Includes Full Text | Free Access
Compiled by the library of Congress, American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. The database contains over 7 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections.
Connect   

Architecture and Urban Planning Collection
Free Access
The Architecture and Urban Planning Collection is a growing and diverse collection from many sources. The collection includes images of urban planning projects from China, Africa, Europe, and the U.S. Many of these images represent research projects of the College of Design, Architecture, Art and Planning faculty and students. Images of the built environment are from the Cincinnati Preservation Association, professional and amateur photographers, and from students and staff at the University of Cincinnati.
Connect   

Art and Architecture from the University of Cincinnati
Free Access
Includes works by Eisenman, Fellheimer & Wagner, Latrobe, Elizabeth Nourse, and Frank Lloyd Wright
Connect   

Art and Architecture from the University of Cincinnati (OhioLink Digital Resource Commons)
UC Only
Approximately 3000 art and architectural images. Collections include: Greek and Roman architecture and sculpture, Minoan Art, Brueghel and Reubens paintings from the Kunsthistorisches Museum in Vienna, works of Michelangelo, and selected images from the following art history textbooks: Gardner's Art Through the Ages, Stokstad's History of Art, Gilbert's Living with Art, Hartt's History of Italian Renaissance Art.
Connect   

Art as Image: Prints and Promotion in Cincinnati, Ohio
Free Access
Art as Image: Prints and Promotion in Cincinnati, Ohio is both a print monograph and a web site published by Ohio University Press in association with the University of Cincinnati Digital Press. The monograph (ISBN: 082141335X) can be ordered online from Amazon.com or Ohio University Press. Cincinnati was a major printing and publishing center from the earliest days of the Old Northwest Territory. The spectacular technological and artistic developments in the 19th-century printing trade nationally were reflected in the Cincinnati printmakers' achievements. Highlights of Cincinnati prints, printing, and graphic design are the focus of the monograph and web site.
Connect   

Art Full Text
  Coverage: 1984 - present  |    Access: UC Only
Art Full Text is a comprehensive resource for art information featuring full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, high-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations. Indexing of almost 200,000 art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists. The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus.
Connect Mobile Ready   

Art Index Retrospective, 1929-1984 (Art Retrospective)
  Coverage: 1929-1984  |    Access: UC Only
Art Index Retrospective, 1929 -1984, provides users access to over half a century of art literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art. Content includes high-quality indexing of nearly 600 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed, and citations of over 25,000 book reviews.
Connect Mobile Ready   

ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM)
  Coverage: 1974 - present  |    Access: UC Only
Abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews...Covers all aspects of modern and contemporary art, including performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theater arts, crafts, jewelry, illustration, and more, as well as the traditional fine arts of painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing.
Connect   

ARTFL Project
Includes Full Text | UC Only
OhioLINK provides access to the ARTFL database of texts and other electronic resources, including several historical dictionaries. �At present the corpus consists of nearly 2000 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth centuries are about equally represented, with a smaller selection of seventeenth century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts.� (From ARTFL General Information).
Connect   

Arts and Humanities Citation Index
  Coverage: 1980 - present  |    Access: UC Only
Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It indexes 1,100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.
Connect   

Arts:Search
Includes Full Text | UC Only
Indexes: Design Abstract Retrospective (DAR); DesignPROFILES, ReVIEW, and designinform Research Guides. Additional resources include: The Studio, Deutsche Kunst und Dekoration, and Art et Decoration
Connect   

ARTstor
UC Only
ARTstor is a non-profit initiative, founded by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, with a mission to use digital technology to enhance scholarship, teaching and learning in the arts and associated fields. It is a searchable database of more than 300,000 digital images and related data. Combinations of images, data and text provides comprehensive art-related teaching, learning and researching capabilities. Images can be viewed and analyzed through features such as zooming and panning.
Connect Mobile Ready   

Bibliography of the History of Art
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1973 - present  |    Access: Free Access
A database search engine covers European and American art from late antiquity to the present, indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals
Connect   

Bird Sounds from the Borror Laboratory of Bioacoustics
Free Access
The Borror Laboratory houses one of the largest collections of recorded animal sounds in the world. Founded by the late Dr. Donald Borror, Professor of Entomology and Zoology at The Ohio State University, the collection contains more than 30,000 recordings of over 1000 species of animals.
Connect   

Blue Mountain Project (Princeton)
Includes Full Text | Free Access
Drawing on Princeton University's exceptional collections and curatorial and academic expertise, the Blue Mountain Project is a digital thematic research collection of art, music and literary periodicals of the European avant-garde published 1848-1923. The project is unique in its goal of collecting full runs of rare journals of international provenance and multilingual scope, of experimental content and complex layout, and to organize them with high-level descriptive and technical precision.
Connect   

British Library Catalogue
Free Access
Choose: "Search" --> "Advanced Search" --> "Select individual catalogues" to get to the music holdings.
Connect   

caa.reviews
Includes Full Text | UC Only
caa.reviews is an online journal devoted to the peer review of new books, museum exhibitions, and projects relevant to the fields of art history, visual studies, and the arts.
Connect   

CAMIO - Catalog of Art Images Online
Includes Full Text | Free Access
CAMIO fills the gap left by the end of operations of the Art Museum Image Consortium (AMICO). This new database not only supports art history, studio art, and design departments, it also provides rich context for history, religion, and other humanities programs. It covers antiquity to the present, and includes photographs, paintings, sculpture, decorative and utilitarian objects, prints, drawings and watercolors, jewelry and costumes, textiles, books, installations, and architecture - plus audio-video and mixed media.
Connect   

Census of Antique Works of Art and Architecture
Includes Full Text | UC Only
This very elaborate multi-tiered database has more than 20,000 Renaissance Documents related to more than 10,000 Antique Monuments that are accompanied by 30,000 photographs or illustrations. The database can be utilized for its collection of images, but more extensive information is provided in the database about the monuments and documents. (Special note: At the entry page click on the "IP-Access" box and then the "Start" button. On the next page, select "Census" in the first box and "English" in the second box. If prompted for a password, contact the Classics Library at 556-1315.)Click here for a guide.
Connect   

Ceramic Abstracts/World Ceramic Abstracts
  Coverage: 1975 - present  |    Access: UC Only
This is a comprehensive database for the ceramics.
Connect   

Classical Music Library
UC Only
56,000 tracks of music, primarily standard repertoire. Licensed from around 32 labels, including, Arabesque, ASV, EMI, Hyperion, Hänssler, and Smithsonian Folkways.
Connect   

DAAP Digital Image Teaching Collection
UC Only
The DAAP Digital Image Teaching Collection represents core images required to support the DAAP curriculum and that are not available through commercial databases, such as ARTstor. These images span a broad spectrum of the visual arts including contemporary performance artists to urban landscapes. This collection is restricted to educational use by UC faculty, students and staff. You must be using the UC network to view this collection
Connect   

Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI)
  Coverage: 1973 - 2002  |    Access: UC Only
Contains over 130,000 annotated references from more than 500 design and craft journals published between 1973-2002, and data on over 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, and firms. All areas of design and craft are covered, including industrial design, vehicle design, architecture, interior design, environmental design, computer aided design, furniture design, ceramics, glass, jewellery, metalsmithing, silversmithing, goldsmithing, fashion design, textile design, embroidery, graphic design, typography, multimedia design, illustration, book design, photography, advertising, marketing, retail design, packaging, exhibition design, theatre design, design and craft history, design and craft theory, ergonomics, design for disability, design for the elderly, design and craft education and design management.
Connect   

Digital Resource Commons (OhioLINK DRC)
UC Only
Ohio campuses are treasure troves of knowledge, but valuable resources are often hidden. The award-winning Ohio Digital Resource Commons (DRC) provides a robust, statewide platform for saving, discovering and sharing-free of charge-the instructional, research, historic and creative materials produced by the University System of Ohio and Ohio's private colleges.
Connect   

Dissertations & Theses (PQDT)
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1861 - present  |    Access: UC Only
"Dissertations and Theses" includes full-text to over 800,000 dissertations from 1997 forward. The database includes also full-text to all UC dissertations published in electronic format. In addition, the database includes citations to dissertations from 1861-Present and Abstracts from 1980 forward. 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.
Connect   

Dissertations & Theses (UC Electronic)
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1955 - present  |    Access: UC Only
Access to a body of well over 8,000 University of Cincinnati electronic dissertations and theses, this is the best link to the broadest collection of electronic UC dissertations. The time period covers mainly from 1955 to the present. To acquire the dissertations electronically, users request the full text from UMI (ProQuest) and are sent a link and a password to access the dissertation. Dissertations from 1997 forward are available in the OhioLINK ETD at ETD (Electronic Theses and Dissertations)
Connect   

Early American Imprints, Series I. Evans (1639-1800)
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1639 - 1800  |    Access: UC Only
Based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans. The definitive resource for every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th- century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft, and just about any other topic imaginable. Upon completion, Evans Digital will consist of more than 36,000 works and 2,400,000 images. Also see - America's Historical Imprints: Evans and Shaw-Shoemaker.
Connect   

EBSCOhost Ebook Collection
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: Full Text  |    Access: UC Only
Books available to browse, view and check out online.
Connect Mobile Ready   

EBSCOhost's Image Quick View
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: varies  |    Access: UC Only
EBSCOhost's Image Quick View feature provides the ability to view thumbnails of the images in an article right from the Result List, Citation View, or the Folder. You can gain quick context and easier access even before you open the Full Text. Over one million additional images are now available, including charts, photos, maps and illustrations. When applicable, thumbnail images will appear in your result list with articles that contain images.
Connect   

Forestry Image Collection (Ohio Agricultural Experiment Station)
Free Access
This collection includes 5000 forestry images from Ohio State University. Ohio Agricultural Experiment Station Forestry Image Collection is a collection of photos of forestry, dating back to the early 20th century. Images portray trees, cultivation, care, and the effects of human activity. Many pictures were taken in Ohio but other states and countries are also represented.
Connect   

FRANCIS
  Coverage: 1972-present  |    Access: UC Only
FRANCIS is a multilingual, multidisciplinary database that offers extensive bibliographic indexing for over 2.5 million records dating back to 1972. Produced by Institut de l'Information Scientifique et Technique of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (INIST-CNRS), the database provides multidisciplinary and multilingual coverage of humanities and social sciences. Source documents include journal articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and reports.
Connect Mobile Ready   

George Catlin: The Printed Works
Free Access
George Catlin: The Printed Works is a collection of over 600 images of lithographic, chromolithographic and engraved plates from Catlin's principal printed works. George Catlin (1792-1872) traveled the North American continent from 1830-1838 to chronicle the people, customs and traditions of Native American tribes. His life's ambition was to record the disappearing Native American culture in paint and print. Catlin's adventures resulted in over 600 portraits and scenes of rituals, hunting and daily life of over fifty North American tribes and several important printed works.
Connect   

Google Scholar
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: Varies  |    Access: Free Access
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. If you are unable to access the fulltext of the item, please check with your university library. You may need to do searches from a campus computer or use a library proxy.
Connect   

Graphics Atlas
Includes Full Text | Free Access
Graphics Atlas is a sophisticated resource that presents a unique, object-based approach for the identification and characterization of prints and photographs.
Connect   

Grove Dictionary of Art Online - See Oxford Art Online
Includes Full Text | UC Only
See -- Oxford Art Online
Connect   

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984
  Coverage: 1907 - 1984  |    Access: UC Only
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective is a bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals. Dates covered: 1907 - 1984.
Connect Mobile Ready   

Index of Christian Art
UC Only
This index is a thematic and iconographic index of early Christian and medieval art objects to 1400 begun at Princeton University in 1917. The database contains works indexed by the archive since 1991. The database is both text and image, and several thousand images are available to public.
Connect   

Index to 19th Century American Art Periodicals
  Coverage: 1840 - 1907  |    Access: UC Only
Indexes 42 art journals published in the U.S. during the 19th century, (1840-1907) providing nearly complete coverage of journals from this period. The index describes the entire journal contents: articles, art notes, illustrations, stories, poems, and advertisements; and offers information on popular culture and industry, artists and illustrators, painting, sculpture, drawing, photography, architecture and design, exhibitions and sales, decorations, and collecting. The file includes 27,000 records.
Connect Mobile Ready   

International Bibliography of Art (IBA)
UC Only
The definitive resource for scholarly literature on Western art, IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA), and retains the editorial policies which made BHA one of the most trusted and frequently consulted sources in the field. The database includes records created by the Getty Research Institute in 2008-09, with new records created by ProQuest using the same thesaurus and authority files.
Connect   

ISI Web of Science
  Coverage: 1965 - present  |    Access: UC Only
ISI Web of Science is a multidisciplinary database with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes 5,300 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines, covering approximately 2,000 more journals than its SCI print and CD-ROM counterparts, with all cited references captured.
Connect   

JSTOR
Includes Full Text | UC Only
Back files of scholarly journals. Starts with the journals' inception.
Connect   

Left Index
  Coverage: 1982 - present  |    Access: UC Only
The Left Index (LI) � A complete guide to the diverse literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. A secondary emphasis is on significant but little known sources of news and ideas. Other topics covered include the labor movement, ecology & environment, race & ethnicity, social & cultural theory, sociology, art & aesthetics, philosophy, history, education, law, and globalization. Historically significant early Left publications such as The People (est. NY 1891), and The Class Struggle (1931-1937) along with classic texts by Marx, Lenin, Trotsky, Engels and others, written in the formative years of the Left, also are covered.
Connect Mobile Ready   

Life Photographs @ Google
  Coverage: 1750's - present  |    Access: Free Access
Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.
Connect   

Lynda.com (Online video-training library)
UC Only
With more than 1,200 courses taught by industry experts -and more courses added every week-Lynda.com is designed for all levels of learners and is available whenever and wherever the user is ready to learn: anywhere, anytime. The library videos feature software from Adobe, Apple, Autodesk, Blackboard, Facebook, Google, HTML, Microsoft, Open Source, SPSS, Twitter and many more. UC users loging with Central Login credentials.
Connect   

Mango Languages Learning Center
UC Only
Mango Language Learning Center Mango is an online language-learning system that can help you learn languages like Spanish, French, Japanese, Brazilian Portuguese, German, Mandarin Chinese, Greek, Italian, Russian and more. It also offers English language lessons if English is not your first language. The system is divided into modules that have clear goals related to conversation and pronunciation. It uses a variety of teaching methods including flashcards, repetition, and cultural notes. It also contains a translation feature. Click the Start Learning button to try it out. Or create a free Mango profile to log in and track your progress. You will need Java and Flash to use Mango.
Connect Mobile Ready   

Material ConneXion database
UC Only
Material ConneXion is the world's leading knowledge base for information about new and innovative materials. The database provides comprehensive information about over 3,500 innovative materials and processes, with more being added each month.
Connect   

Materials Business File
  Coverage: 1985 - present  |    Access: UC Only
Materials Business File focuses on industry news, international trade data, government regulations and management issues related to the metals and materials industries. Citations for this database are pulled from 2,000 journals, plus patents, dissertations, government reports, conference proceedings, and books indexed by expert editors from Materials Information. Begun in 1985, Materials Business File is the database equivalent of the bulletins Steels Alert, Polymers/Ceramics/Composites Alert and Nonferrous Metals Alert. Together they cover new technologies, new materials and other industry developments reported in the press.
Connect   

Materials Research Database
  Coverage: 1966 - present  |    Access: UC Only
Brings together in one place the majority of the leading materials science databases, with specialist content on materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering application. Everything from raw materials and refining through processing, welding and fabrication to end us, corrosion, performance and recycling is covered in depth for all metals, alloys, polymers, ceramics, and composites. Incluides over 3,000 primary journals plus trade literature, patents, newspapers, press releases, conference proceedings, books and reports.
Connect   

Materials Safety Data Sheets (MSDS)
UC Only
Database containing nearly 90,000 material safety data sheets (MSDS) from the Sigma-Aldrich family of companies. These documents clearly define each product giving its composition, identifying any hazardous properties, outlining first-aid treatment in case of accidental body contact and even pointing out special fire fighting procedures that might be needed. In addition, there are MSDS suggestions for responding to an accidental release of the compound, for everyday product handling and storage, as well as for personal protection against exposure to the product.
Connect   

Materialsnetbase
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1986 - Present  |    Access: UC Only
A dynamic, ever-growing online library dedicated to the theory, data, and applications of Materials Science.
Connect   

MatWeb
  Coverage: current  |    Access: Free Access
MatWeb is an online materials information resource. The heart of MatWeb is a searchable database of material data sheets, including property information on thermoplastic and thermoset polymers such as ABS, nylon, polycarbonate, polyester, polyethylene and polypropylene; metals such as aluminum, cobalt, copper, lead, magnesium, nickel,steel, superalloys, titanium and zinc alloys; ceramics; plus semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials. There are over 59,000 data sheets in the collection.
Connect   

Mayan Archaeology Photographs
Free Access
Mayan Archeology Digital Photographs is a collection of digital photographs of Mayan archeology. This collection shows Mayan architecture and scenery from Mexico, Honduras, and Guatemala. As a resource for the exploration of the various and complex interrelationships within Mayan society, the Mayan archaeology collection serves as basic image resource which the creators hope will be augmented by other scholars in the field.
Connect   

McKenney & Hall: History of the Indian Tribes of North America
Free Access
McKenney & Hall: History of the Indian Tribes of North America is a collection of 125 images of lithographic and chromolithographic plates. Thomas Loraine McKenney (1785-1859) served as Commissioner of Indian Affairs from 1824 to 1830. In that capacity he commissioned and collected portraits of Native Americans for his Gallery in the War Department. McKenney's goal was to publish a record of vanishing peoples: portraits, biographical sketches and a history of North American Indians. He accomplished this in the first issue of History of the Indian Tribes of North America, published in three volumes between 1838 and 1844. James Hall (1793-1868) provided the text.
Connect   

Naxos Video Library
UC Only
The Naxos Video Library is a performing arts video library with over 300 operas, ballets, documentaries, live concerts, and musical tours of historic places. It includes the Naxos DVD label, Opus Arte, Arthaus, Dacapo, EuroArts, among others and is continuously updated to offer the best selection of performing arts videos.
Connect Mobile Ready   

New York Public Library Picture Collection Online
Free Access
A collection of 30,000 digitized images from books, magazines and newspapers as well as original photographs, prints and postcards, mostly created before 1923.
Connect   

North American Indian Works - Szwedzicki, C.
Includes Full Text | Free Access
C. Szwedzicki: The North American Indian Works is a collection of 364 images and 6 texts. Between 1929 and 1952 C. Szwedzicki, a publisher in Nice, France, produced six portfolios of North American Indian art. The publications were edited by American scholars Oscar Brousse Jacobson, Hartley Burr Alexander and Kenneth Milton Chapman. Many of the images were published as pochoir prints which are similar in appearance to silk screen prints. These works represent original works by 20th Century American Indian artists. Important documentation of the Battle of the Little Big Horn is provided in the reproduction of the now lost ledger art of Amos Bad Heart Bull.
Connect   

NYPL Digital Gallery
Free Access
The New York Public Library Digital Gallery provides access to over 600,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of the New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more.
Connect   

OmniFile Full Text Mega
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: Full Text; 1982-present  |    Access: UC Only
Full Text Mega Edition is a multi-disciplinary database providing the complete content - indexing, abstracts, and full text - from six of Wilson's full-text databases: Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, Wilson Business Full Text Full-text articles from five additional periodical databases are also included when available: Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, Library Literature & Information Science Full Text Indexing begins in 1982, abstracts in 1984, and full-text coverage in 1994. Each database has its own start dates for indexing, abstracting, and full text; start dates for full-text rights to individual journals vary within a database.
Connect Mobile Ready   

Oxford Art Online
Includes Full Text | UC Only
Oxford Art Online is an authoritative, inclusive, and easily searchable online art resource. Through a single gateway users can access-and simultaneously cross-search-an expanding range of Oxford's art reference works: Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, as well as many specially commissioned articles and bibliographies available exclusively online.
Connect   

Phil Foster Collection
Free Access
Images of selected works of painter and art educator Phil Foster (1915-1999).
Connect   

Photography Criticism Cyberarchive
UC Only
Provides access to hundreds of essays and a number of complete books on various aspects of photography (e.g., history, criticism, and theory) by early and contemporary writers from the medium's inception through the present day. Approximately 25 essays or complete books will be added to the archive each month.
Connect   

Reproductive Physiology Animations
Free Access
Reproductive Physiology Animations is a collection of learning modules on human reproduction from the University of Cincinnati College of Medicine. The modules have animation, and some have sound. These animations are played via Macromedia Flash Player, which is pre-installed on most Web browsers. Users may download files, for example to insert into a PowerPoint presentation or a Blackboard course. You may select and rearrange modules to fit your need.
Connect   

Robert A. Deshon Courthouses Collection
Free Access
For many years, architect and University of Cincinnati professor, Robert A. Deshon (1915-2007), photographed courthouses throughout Ohio, Indiana, Kentucky and West Virginia. The contents of this initial collection of 559 images are from the holdings of the Ohio Historical Society Library
Connect   

Saskia Art History Images
UC Only
Saskia Art History Images is a collection of digital art images with a special emphasis on the core images required for teaching the history of Western Art.
Connect   

Stylesight
Includes Full Text | UC Only
Now merged with WGSN
Connect   

Szwedzicki, C.: The North American Indian Works
Includes Full Text | Free Access
C. Szwedzicki: The North American Indian Works is a collection of 364 images and 6 texts. Between 1929 and 1952 C. Szwedzicki, a publisher in Nice, France, produced six portfolios of North American Indian art. The publications were edited by American scholars Oscar Brousse Jacobson, Hartley Burr Alexander and Kenneth Milton Chapman. Many of the images were published as pochoir prints which are similar in appearance to silk screen prints. These works represent original works by 20th Century American Indian artists. Important documentation of the Battle of the Little Big Horn is provided in the reproduction of the now lost ledger art of Amos Bad Heart Bull.
Connect   

Victorian Database Online
  Coverage: 1945 - present  |    Access: UC Only
Search over 100,000 records listing books, articles, and dissertation abstracts published from 1945 to the present on every field of nineteenth-century British studies.
Connect   

Vogue Archive
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1892 - current  |    Access: UC Only
"The Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition), from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names."--Web site
Connect   

William Blake Archive
Includes Full Text | Free Access
A free site on the World Wide Web since 1996, the Blake Archive was conceived as an international public resource that would provide unified access to major works of visual and literary art that are highly disparate, widely dispersed, and more and more often severely restricted as a result of their value, rarity, and extreme fragility. A growing number of contributors has given the Archive permission to include thousands of Blake's images and texts without fees.
Connect   

WPA Prints by Cleveland Artists
Free Access
High resolution scans of works of art by Cleveland artists, commissioned under the Works Progress Administration. The WPA was the largest New Deal program and provided jobs and income to the unemployed during the Great Depression. It built many public buildings and roads, and as well operated a large arts project
Connect   
.