Skip to main content
Skip to main content

UC Libraries

Indexes and Databases

View By Title: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z See All | Browse | Find e-Books

View by Subject:

Search the DB list (Searches the title and description)


Viewing: 32 total records for the subject: Classics


AATA (Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts)
  Coverage: Varies  |    Access: Free Access
AATA Online is a comprehensive database of over 100,000 abstracts of literature related to the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage.
Connect   

ABZU
Free Access
Abzu is a guide to networked open access data relevant to the study and public presentation of the Ancient Near East and the Ancient Mediterranean
Connect   

Annee Philologique
  Coverage: v.20 (1949) - v.75 (2004)  |    Access: UC Only
L’Annee Philologique indexes publications (monographs, journal articles, and articles in collections and conferences) on all aspects of classical studies internationally. Consult the L’Annee Philologique webpage for coverage—the online version continues to index additional earlier volumes.
Connect   

APIS: Advanced Papyrological Information System
Free Access
APIS is a collections-based repository hosting information about and images of papyrological materials (e.g. papyri, ostraca, wood tablets, etc) located in collections around the world. It contains physical descriptions and bibliographic information about the papyri and other written materials, as well as digital images and English translations of many of these texts. When possible, links are also provided to the original language texts (e.g. through the Duke Data Bank of Documentary Papyri). The user can move back and forth among text, translation, bibliography, description, and image. With the specially-developed APIS Search System many different types of complex searches can be carried out.
Connect   

BAHR Database
Free Access
Created in 1962 by Edmond Frezouls, the Bulletin Analytique d'Histoire Romaine (BAHR) was first presented as a yearly serial of analysis of articles from the scientific press, classified by topic and related to the roman history and archaeology. Since 1992 the analysis were stopped in order to promote the choice of key words - nations, anthroponomy, theonomy, - geographic places, - literature sources, epigraphy, papyrology, - different topics and key words. For this last group, a thesaurus has been established. The annual paperwork publication continues, but since 1999, the entire data base is also available on the Web - more precisely the data collected in about a thousand French and foreign press magazines, most of them inventoried since 1990. Most of the inventory and analysis were made by four CNRS engineers, member of the UMR 7044 (Etude des Civilisations de l'Antiquite, CNRS/Marc Bloch University). Michel Matter, Doris Meyer, Marie-Jose Morant, Andre Pautler, together with different teachers and research workers and doctoral candidates of Marc Bloch University (Strasbourg), Haute Alsace University (Mulhouse), Pierre-Mendes-France (Grenoble), Paris I, Paris IV, and also the members of the Research Group on Roman History of the Laval University of Quebec.
Connect   

Beazley Archive
Free Access
Databases: By 2004 the Beazley Archive had more than twenty databases of different types of objects in different formats. To manage data more efficiently they were merged into one 'extensible' database system (XDB) between 2004 and 2005. Merging datasets also enabled the 'benefits' of one database to be transferred to another. For example, a database of inscriptions on Athenian vases was merged with the Pottery Database, and the latter was merged with Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum.
Connect   

Bibliography on Gender in Byzantium
Free Access
This resource started out as a bibliography on women in Byzantium, begun by Thalia Gouma-Peterson and maintained by Alice-Mary Talbot. Work on women’s history has recently been supplemented by studies on eunuchs, and a concern for masculinity, which together enable work on the Byzantine gender system. Includes primary and secondary sources, as well as web sites.
Connect   

Brill's New Jacoby
Includes Full Text | UC Only
Connect   

CAMIO - Catalog of Art Images Online
Includes Full Text | Free Access
CAMIO fills the gap left by the end of operations of the Art Museum Image Consortium (AMICO). This new database not only supports art history, studio art, and design departments, it also provides rich context for history, religion, and other humanities programs. It covers antiquity to the present, and includes photographs, paintings, sculpture, decorative and utilitarian objects, prints, drawings and watercolors, jewelry and costumes, textiles, books, installations, and architecture - plus audio-video and mixed media.
Connect   

Diotima; Materials for Study of Women and Gender in the Ancient World
Free Access
Diotima serves as an interdisciplinary resource for anyone interested in patterns of gender around the ancient Mediterranean and as a forum for collaboration among instructors who teach courses about women and gender in the ancient world. This site includes course materials, the beginnings of a systematic and searchable bibliography, and links to many on-line resources, including articles, book reviews, databases, and images. Ross Scaife and Suzanne Bonefas launched this project in early 1995; since that time it has been developed mainly by Scaife, but with help and contributions from many quarters.
Connect   

DRoits ANTiques (DRANT) database
Free Access
Bibliography of legal, political, economic and social institutions of the ancient Mediterranean world compiled by the Center for the Documentation of Ancient Law.
Connect   

Duke Database of Documentary Papyri (Perseus Project)
Free Access
This specialized database includes full text access to documentary texts on papyri and ostraca.
Connect   

Duke Papyrus Archive
Free Access
The Duke Papyrus Archive provides electronic access to texts about and images of nearly 1400 papyri from ancient Egypt. The target audience includes: papyrologists, ancient historians, archaeologists, biblical scholars, classicists, Coptologists, Egyptologists, students of literature and religion and all others interested in ancient Egypt.
Connect   

DYABOLA
  Coverage: 1956 - present  |    Access: UC Only
DYABOLA (the electronic version of "Archaologische")
Connect   

Heidelberger Gesamtverzeichnis der Griechischen Papyrusurkunden A...
Free Access
Register of Greek and Latin papyrus documents.
Connect   

Homer and the Papyri
Free Access
Homer and the Papyri, first created by Professor Dana Sutton of the University of California, Irvine, is here published in a second electronic edition. The new edition consists of a fully searchable relational database of Homeric papyri.
Connect   

Latin Library
Includes Full Text | Free Access
Online texts of works by ancient Latin authors
Connect   

Leuven Database of Ancient Books (LDAB)
Free Access
The text database contains at present 12770 Greek and Latin literary texts. The collections database contains at present 1268 entries. The Archives database contains at present 364 entries. The database requires FileMaker Pro.
Connect   

Loeb Classical Library
Includes Full Text | UC Only
Harvard University Press is honored to renew James Loeb's vision of accessibility and presents an interconnected, fully searchable, perpetually growing, virtual library of all that is important in Greek and Latin literature. Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture — in short, our entire Greek and Latin Classical heritage is represented here with up-to-date texts and accurate English translations. More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available in a modern and elegant interface, allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content with ease.
Connect   

Medicina Antiqua
Includes Full Text | Free Access
Medicina Antiqua is hosted by the Wellcome Trust Centre for the History of Medicine at UCL. It is devoted to the study of medicine in the Graeco-Roman world. It is intended to be a useful scholarly introduction and resource. It does this primarily either by including existing resources or linking to other web resources. The site currently hosts a number of essays and translations, which it is hoped will be expanded in the future.
Connect   

Metis: QVTR Ancient Greek Archaeological Sites
Free Access
Images from many Greek archaeological sites.
Connect   

Nestor
Free Access
Bibliography of Aegean Prehistory and related areas. Published by the Department of Classics, University of Cincinnati.
Connect   

Numismatic Literature
UC Only
Numismatic Literature is the Society's annotated bibliography of published work in all fields of numismatics. At its core NumLit is a text archive that supports multiple delivery formats, one that is designed for longevity in the face of rapid technological innovation. For users, NumLit currently exists as subject and author indexes that are regularly updated as new titles are entered.
Connect   

Online Medieval & Classical Library
Includes Full Text | Free Access
The Online Medieval and Classical Library (OMACL) is a collection of some of the most important literary works of Classical and Medieval civilization.
Connect   

Oxford Bibliographies Online. Classics
Includes Full Text | UC Only
Oxford Bibliographies Online. Classis offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the Classics. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies
Connect   

Perseus Project
Includes Full Text | Free Access
Perseus is an evolving digital library, engineering interactions through time, space, and language. Our primary goal is to bring a wide range of source materials to as large an audience as possible. We anticipate that greater accessibility to the sources for the study of the humanities will strengthen the quality of questions, lead to new avenues of research, and connect more people through the connection of ideas.
Connect   

Project Libellus
Includes Full Text | Free Access
Project Libellus is an ongoing attempt to provide a library of classical Latin (and Greek) texts with minimal redistribution restrictions.”
Connect   

RAMBI
Free Access
Index of articles on Jewish Studies.
Connect   

Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum (SEG) Online
Includes Full Text | UC Only
Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum (SEG) systematically collects newly published Greek inscriptions as well as publications on previously known documents. Material later than the 8th century A.D. is not included. Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum presents complete Greek texts of all new inscriptions with a critical apparatus; it summarizes new readings, interpretations and studies of known inscriptions, and occasionally presents the Greek text of these documents. Inscriptions are listed by their provenance, e.g. Dodona or Abdera. These place names are grouped into regions, such as Attica or Illyria. In the SEG Online, in order to keep lists and loading times short, these regions are grouped into several larger areas:1. Greece, 2. North, 3. Aegean, 4. West, 5. Asia Minor, and 6. East. The online edition includes all SEG volumes, and will incorporate all future volumes in the series. Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum Online is automatically updated upon publication of the annual volume.
Connect   

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG)
UC Only
The TLG's goal is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era. As of late 2006, the database accesses 12,000 works by 3,700 Greek authors.Users must register for an account to access content.
Connect   

TOCS-IN
Free Access
TOCS-IN provides the tables of contents of a selection of Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals, both in text format and through a Web search program. Where possible, links are given with articles of which the full text or an abstract is available online (about 15%). The project began to archive current tables of contents in 1992, and now contains ca 185 journals, and over 45,000 articles, in a database at Toronto. In addition, the Louvain mirror site archives much additional material for some of the journals before 1992. TOCS-IN also indexes Festschriften and Conference proceedings.
Connect   

ZENON DAI (Zentraler Onlinekatalog des Deutschen Archäologischen Inst.
Free Access
In addition to containing records for materials held in the nine libraries of the German Archaeological Institute, ZENON DAI indexes journals, Festschriften and conference proceedings. It covers Greek and Roman material culture as well as Greek and Roman history, epigraphy, and numismatics.
Connect   
.