UC Libraries

Indexes and Databases

View By Title: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z See All | Browse | Find e-Books

View by Subject:

Search the DB list (Searches the title and description)


Viewing: 35 total records for the subject: Newspapers


Access World News
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: Current  |    Access: UC Only
Connect   

Accessible Archives
Includes Full Text | UC Only
A site devoted to primary source material in American history. Information archived is from leading historical periodicals and books, and includes eyewitness accounts of historical events, vivid descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements, and genealogical records. Databases are encyclopedic in scope and allow full Boolean, group, name, string, and truncated searches. Transcribed individual entries are complete with full bibliographic citations and are organized chronologically. Titles will continue to be added covering important topics and time periods for scholars and students of all academic levels
Connect   

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 (Readex)
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1827-1998  |    Access: UC Only
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection features papers from more than 35 states—including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles. Newly digitized, these newspapers published by or for African Americans can now be browsed and searched as never before.
Connect   

African American Newspapers: 19th century, Parts 1-5 (Accessible Archives)
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1827 - 1876  |    Access: UC Only
This collection of African-american Newspapers contains information about the cultural life and history during the 1800s, and is rich with first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, including the Mexican War, Presidential and congressional addresses, Congressional abstracts, business and commodity markets, the humanities, world travel and religion. They also contain large numbers of early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements all of which embody the African-American experience.
Connect   

Alt-HealthWatch
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1990 - present  |    Access: UC Only
Peer-reviewed journals, academic and professional publications, magazines, consumer newsletters and newspapers, research reports, and association newsletters focused on contemporary, alternative and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
Connect Mobile Ready   

American Health Line
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1992 - present  |    Access: UC Only
Users must set up an individual account and password. Searches may be run without an account, but you will be prompted for username and password when you attempt to access any of the results. This database provides a concise, accurate and nonpartisan synthesis of the days most important and compelling health care news, delivered to your desktop by 11:30 a.m. ET. It "covers the coverage" from hundreds of newspapers, magazines, online sources, press releases, and radio and TV news shows each day. AHL provides direct links to original newspaper articles and archived background information dating back to 1992, as well as to reports and studies.
Connect   

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1880-1922  |    Access: Free Access
This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
Connect   

Cincinnati Business Courier
Includes Full Text | UC Only
The Cincinnati Business Courier has the latest breaking business news, updated throughout the day, some of this week's top stories from the Courier and other popular features from the print edition.
Connect   

Cincinnati Enquirer
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1999-current  |    Access: UC Only
Available through ProQuest Newspapers
Connect   

Cincinnati NEWSDEX
Free Access
Produced by the Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County NEWSDEX provides indexing to Cincinnati newspapers.
Connect   

Early American Imprints, Series II. Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819)
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1801-1819  |    Access: UC Only
Provides full-text and full-page-image access to books, pamphlets, and broadsides published in America from 1801 through 1819. Contains many state papers and government materials, including published reports; presidential letters and messages; and congressional, state and territorial resolutions. Based on the American Bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker, which is now supplemented by thousands of new items. Allows browsing by genre, subject, author, printing history, place of publication, and language. Allows searching in citation text, title, subject, genre, author, place of publication, publisher, and document number. Cross-searchable with other Archive of Americana collections. Also see - America's Historical Imprints: Evans and Shaw-Shoemaker
Connect   

Early American Newspapers, Series I: 1690-1876
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1690-1876  |    Access: UC Only
Offers more than 700 historical American newspapers from 23 states and the District of Columbia printed between 1690 and 1876. Focusing largely on the 18th century, Series 1 is based on Clarence S. Brigham's "History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820" and other authoritative bibliographies. The core of the collection is formed by American Antiquarian Society (AAS) founder Isaiah Thomas' own collection of colonial and early national period newspapers and supplemented by issues added by Thomas' successors at the AAS.
Connect   

Ethnic NewsWatch
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: Full Text; 1985 - present  |    Access: UC Only
Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic and minority press in America, some dating back to 1985.
Connect   

Factiva
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1980 - present  |    Access: UC Only
Factiva's business information includes Dow Jones and Reuters Newswires and The Wall Street Journal, plus more than 8,000 other sources from around the world. These sources provide current news, historical articles, local-language articles, and stock quotes. Factiva provides access to more than 900 non-English sources. Factiva provides access to key content in 22 languages from 118 countries not available on the free Web. Many of the full-text articles go back to 1980.
Connect   

Foreign Broadcast Information Service Electronic Index
  Coverage: 1975 - 1996  |    Access: UC Only
An index to the FBIS Daily Reports issued by the U.S. Government covering political, economic, scientific, and cultural issues and events throughout the world. Translations of broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from nations around the world are the sources of this information.
Connect   

Historic Oregon Newspapers
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1846-1922  |    Access: Free Access
Historic Oregon Newspapers allows for searching and accessing complete content for historic Oregon newspapers that have been digitized as part of the Oregon Digital Newspaper Program (ODNP).
Connect   

LexisNexis Academic
Includes Full Text | UC Only
LexisNexis Academic. This service provides Internet access to some of the most popular files of LexisNexis with easy, forms-based searching. There are nearly 20 basic libraries including: General News, Company News Industry & Market News, Company Financial Information Country Profiles, State Profiles, Biographical Information, Reference & Directories Law Reviews, Federal Case Law, Accounting, Auditing & Tax -- Many of the sources available on the traditional plan with some limitations on searching capabilities.
Connect   

LGBT Life with Full Text
Includes Full Text | UC Only
LGBT Life (formerly GLBT Life) is an index to the world's literature regarding gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues. This database contains indexing and abstracts for more than 120 LGBT-specific core periodicals and over 230 LGBT-specific core books and reference works. The product also contains data mined from over 40 priority periodicals and over 1,700 select titles, as well as full text for 50 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, and dozens of full text monographs. The database includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBT Thesaurus containing over 6,300 terms.
Connect Mobile Ready   

New York Times (1851-2009)
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1851 - 2009  |    Access: UC Only
The New York Times (1851-2009) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Connect   

New York Times, Late Edition, East Coast (June 1, 1980 - Present)
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 6/1/1980 - Present  |    Access: UC Only
The New York Times offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to June 1, 1980. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Connect   

News Record
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: Sept.1960 - July 1970  |    Access: Free Access
Past issues of The News Record, The University of Cincinnati's Independent Student Newspaper, digitized through a collaboration between the Libraries' Digital Projects Department and the Archives & Rare Books Library. Keyword searches are available within each issue.
Connect   

NEWSDEX
Free Access
Newsdex is an index to newspaper articles pertaining to Cincinnati and Hamilton County. Selected coverage began in 1811 and full coverage began in 1990. Newsdex indexes the Cincinnati Enquirer, Cincinnati Post, Cincinnati Herald, Cincinnati Magazine, Business Courier, and the Downtowner.
Connect   

Newspaper Abstracts
  Coverage: 1989 - present  |    Access: UC Only
see entry under new title: ProQuest Newspapers.
Connect   

Newspaper Source
Includes Full Text | UC Only
The database provides full text for 245 regional U.S. newspapers, eighteen international newspapers, six newswires, and nine newspaper columns, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Los Angeles Times.
Connect Mobile Ready   

Nineteenth Century Masterfile: 1106-1930
  Coverage: 1802 - 1906  |    Access: UC Only
Nineteenth Century Masterfile (formerly Poole's Plus) describes itself as "the digital index of the nineteenth century." The original component was an online version of W.F. Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, 1802-1906. The database is now enhanced with indices to other periodicals, books, newspapers, and government documents of the 19th century.
Connect   

Palmer's Index to The Times
  Coverage: 1790 - 1905  |    Access: UC Only
Historical newspapers online, 1790-1905.
Connect   

Pennsylvania Gazette, 1728-1800
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1728-1800  |    Access: UC Only
Published in Philadelphia from 1728 through 1800, The Pennsylvania Gazette is considered The New York Times of the 18th century. It provides the reader with a first hand view of colonial America, the American Revolution and the New Republic, and offers important social, political and cultural perspectives of each of the periods. Thousands of articles, editorials, letters, news items and advertisements cover the Western Hemisphere, from the Canadian Maritime Provinces, through the West Indies and North and South America, giving a detailed glimpse of issues and lifestyles of the times. Also included is the full-text of such important writings such as: the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution, Letters from a Farmer, Thomas Payne`s Common Sense, The Federalist Papers, etc.
Connect   

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1910-1975  |    Access: UC Only
The Chicago Defender (1910-1975) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Connect   

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1911-2002  |    Access: UC Only
ProQuest Historical Newspapers Pittsburgh Courier: 1911-2002 offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Connect   

ProQuest National Newspapers Premier
  Coverage: 1989 - present  |    Access: UC Only
Abstracts of articles published from 1989 to the present in 27 U.S. newspapers.
Connect   

Sunday Times Digital Archive, 1822-2006
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1822-2006  |    Access: UC Only
Completely separate from the Times of London, the Sunday Times is known for its investigative journalism, providing commentary, and analysis of the week's news.
Connect   

Times Digital Archive, 1785-2006
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1785-2006  |    Access: UC Only
Researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
Connect   

Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition (January 2, 1984 - Present)
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: 1/2/1984 - Present  |    Access: UC Only
The Wall Street Journal is the single most authoritative source of global and national business reporting.
Connect   

World News Connection
Includes Full Text |   Coverage: November 1995 - December 31, 2013  |    Access: UC Only
World News Connection (WNC) is an online news service, only accessible via the World Wide Web, that offers an extensive array of translated and English-language news and information. Particularly effective in its coverage of local media sources, WNC provides you with the power to identify what really is happening in a specific country or region. Compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources, the information in WNC covers significant socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events. The information is obtained from full text and summaries of newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports. New information is entered into WNC every government business day. Generally, new information is available within 48-72 hours from the time of original publication or broadcast.
Connect   

World Politics Review
Includes Full Text | UC Only
World Politics Review was created for foreign policy professionals who have a world of online breaking news at their fingertips. Our tightly focused coverage gives context to the key trends and events in international affairs.
Connect Mobile Ready   
.