UC Libraries

Indexes and Databases

View By Title: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z See All | Browse | Find e-Books

View by Subject:

Search the DB list (Searches the title and description)


Browse Records - 30 per page

First | Previous | Next |Last


Agricola (Access via government website) Free Access
A bibliographic database to the National Agricultural Library's online public access catalog and journal article citation index.  
Connect Mobile Ready   

Agricultural & environmental science database   |   Coverage: 1960 - present  |    Access: UC Only
This database includes the AGRICOLA, ESPM, and EIS databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more. For those researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.  
Connect   

AHFS Consumer Medication Information   |  Includes Full Text   |   Coverage: current  |    Access: UC Only
The Lexi-PALS Drug Guide is a database of Patient Advisory Leaflets from Lexi-Comp that provides vital education on medications for patients. The approach for each pamphlet is to present each medication in an easy to follow and understand question-and-answer format. The database consists of over 1,450 medication and natural product leaflets, with an additional 600 Spanish language leaflets representing the most subscribed and commonly used medications. The database is offered on the EBSCOhost platform and is updated monthly.  
Connect Mobile Ready   

AIAA Electronic Library   |  Includes Full Text   |   Coverage: 1963 - present  |    Access: UC Only
The AIAA Electronic Library, updated quarterly, contains Author, Title, Paper Number, and Conference Date and Location information for papers presented at AIAA meetings  
Connect   

Alt-HealthWatch   |  Includes Full Text   |   Coverage: 1990 - present  |    Access: UC Only
Peer-reviewed journals, academic and professional publications, magazines, consumer newsletters and newspapers, research reports, and association newsletters focused on contemporary, alternative and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.   
Connect Mobile Ready   

Alternative Press Index (API)   |   Coverage: 1991 to present  |    Access: UC Only
Alternative Press Index (API) is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. Born of the New Left, the API was launched in 1969 to provide access to the emerging theories and practices of radical social change.  
Connect   

Aluminium Industry Abstracts   |   Coverage: 1972 - present  |    Access: UC Only
Aluminium Industry Abstracts (AIA), formerly World Aluminum Abstracts (WAA), provides comprehensive coverage of the world's technical literature on aluminum, production processes, products, applications, and business developments. The Aluminium Industry Abstracts database includes information abstracted from approximately 2,300 scientific and technical journals, government reports, conference proceedings,dissertations, books, and patents.  
Connect   

America's Historical Imprints: Evans and Shaw-Shomaker   |  Includes Full Text UC Only
America’s Historical Imprints: Evans and Shaw-Shoemaker includes Early American Imprints, Series I. Evans (1639-1800), plus the Evans supplement from the collections of the American Antiquarian Society for 1652-1800 and the Evans supplement from the collections of the Library Company of Philadelphia for 1670-1800 plus Early American Imprints, Series II. Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819). All four collections may be searched at once or you can also choose to search just one of the series. Books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera, and government documents from 1639-1819 are searchable in this Readex database. Supported by the Charles Phelps Taft Research Center.   
Connect   

America's News Magazines   |  Includes Full Text   |   Coverage: Current  |    Access: UC Only
America's News Magazines is a collection of full-text magazines, covering general news, business, entertainment, lifestyle, and sports.  
Connect   

America: History and Life (EBSCO )   |   Coverage: 1964 - present  |    Access: UC Only
America: History and Life is a comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. AHL offers abstracts and citations for articles appearing in over 2,000 journals published worldwide in history, related humanities, and the social sciences. Coverage also includes citations to book reviews from approximately 140 major journals of American history and culture, and relevant dissertations from Dissertation Abstracts International.  
Connect Mobile Ready   

American FactFinder Free Access
American FactFinder is a data access and dissemination system that provides useful statistics and facts about your community, your economy, and your society. The system will find and retrieve the information you need from some of the Census Bureau's largest data sets.  
Connect   

American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries   |  Includes Full Text   |   Coverage: Current  |    Access: UC Only
Covers over 190 countries and 1,200 industries. U.S. companies listed have a substantial investment in overseas operations — wholly or partially owned subsidiary affiliate or branch. Search by one or multiple criteria. Download your list to Excel.  
Connect   

American Health Line   |  Includes Full Text   |   Coverage: 1992 - present  |    Access: UC Only
Users must set up an individual account and password. Searches may be run without an account, but you will be prompted for username and password when you attempt to access any of the results. This database provides a concise, accurate and nonpartisan synthesis of the days most important and compelling health care news, delivered to your desktop by 11:30 a.m. ET. It "covers the coverage" from hundreds of newspapers, magazines, online sources, press releases, and radio and TV news shows each day. AHL provides direct links to original newspaper articles and archived background information dating back to 1992, as well as to reports and studies.  
Connect   

American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language   |  Includes Full Text Free Access
Over 90,000 entries feature 10,000 new words and senses, 70,000 audio word pronunciations, 900 full-page color illustrations, language notes and word-root appendixes.   
Connect   

American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library   |  Includes Full Text Free Access
Compiled by the library of Congress, American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. The database contains over 7 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections.   
Connect   

American National Biography UC Only
The landmark American National Biography offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation. More than a decade in preparation, the American National Biography is the first biographical resource of this scope to be published in more than sixty years. (from the Web site).  
Connect   

American Periodicals Series Online 1740-1900   |  Includes Full Text   |   Coverage: 1740 - 1943  |    Access: UC Only
APS ONLINE 1740-1900 spans over 1,500 titles and 7 million pages of content beginning with the first magazines published in America. Limited coverage extends to the near mid-20th century (1943) for articles in some periodical titles that began publishing in 1900. See the database description “About this Collection” on the opening page of the database for details concerning dates of coverage.   
Connect   

American Poetry Database   |  Includes Full Text   |   Coverage:  Full Text 1600 - 1900  |    Access: UC Only
The American Poetry Database (APD), published by Chadwyck-Healey, contains the full text of over 40,000 poems by more than 200 writers from the 17th Century to the early 20th Century.  
Connect   

American Verse Project   |  Includes Full Text Free Access
The American Verse Project is a collaborative project between the University of Michigan Humanities Text Initiative (HTI) and the University of Michigan Press. The project is assembling an electronic archive of volumes of American poetry prior to 1920. The full text of each volume of poetry is being converted into digital form and coded in Standard Generalized Mark-up Language (SGML) using the TEI Guidelines, with various forms of access provided through the WWW.  
Connect   

Ancestry Library Edition (Restricted to On-Campus Access only) UC Only
The ProQuest Ancestry Library Edition contains coverage of the U.S. and the U.K., including census, vital, church, court, and immigration records, as well as record collections from Canada and other areas. A collection of more than 4,000 databases and 1.5 billion names including U.S. federal census images and indexes from 1790 to 1930; the Map Center containing more than 1,000 historical maps; American Genealogical Biographical Index (over 200 volumes), Daughters of the American Revolution Lineage (over 150 volumes), The Great Migration Begins: Immigrants to New England, 1620-1630, Social Security Death Index, WWI Draft Registration Cards, Federal Slave Narratives, and a Civil War collection.  
Connect   

Annee Philologique   |   Coverage: v.20 (1949) - v.75 (2004)  |    Access: UC Only
L’Annee Philologique indexes publications (monographs, journal articles, and articles in collections and conferences) on all aspects of classical studies internationally. Consult the L’Annee Philologique webpage for coverage—the online version continues to index additional earlier volumes.  
Connect   

Annual Reviews   |  Includes Full Text   |   Coverage: 1932 - present  |    Access: UC Only
Since 1932, Annual Reviews has offered comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 30 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Chemical, Physical, and Social Sciences.  
Connect   

Anthropology Plus   |   Coverage: 1800 - present  |    Access: UC Only
This database brings together into one resource the highly respected Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and the Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. It provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers excellent coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals.  
Connect Mobile Ready   

AP Images Collection (EBSCO)   |  Includes Full Text UC Only
As of 2017, now hosted through EBSCO: Associated Press archive of photographs, from 1844 to the present, audio files of radio broadcasts, texts of wire stories, and info-graphics. The Photo Archive features state, regional and national photos from North America, as well as international photos all available moments after they move on the AP's spot picture system. An average of 800 photos a day feed into the Photo Archive, and remain there for a minimum of one year.  
Connect   

APA Style Central   |  Includes Full Text UC Only
APA Style Central is the consummate tool for learning and using APA style for a wide range of users: undergraduates, graduates and faculty. APA Style Central offers a plethora of tools to facilitate the writing and research process and to ensure compliance with APA style. Tools include 66 excellent video guides on specific rules or guidelines with direct links to corresponding text in the Publication Manual of the APA; 18 substantive video tutorials on broader topics such as “confounding variables” or “analyzing data”; 10 self-quizzes; 18 sample research papers, 15 sample tables & figures, over 150 sample references, 19 full-text psychology related reference books, a writing and collaboration tool and a manuscript matcher to identify journal candidates for publication. Moreover, most of this content can be embedded in online courses.  
Connect   

APA Style Guide to Electronic References   |  Includes Full Text   |   Coverage: Current  |    Access: UC Only
Expanded and updated from the Electronic Resources section of the Fifth Edition of the Publication Manual, this comprehensive guide offers up-to-date information on formatting electronic references in APA style. With more than 40 example references, the APA Style Guide to Electronic References outlines for students and writers the key elements to include in references to electronic sources, with numerous examples.   
Connect   

APIS: Advanced Papyrological Information System Free Access
APIS is a collections-based repository hosting information about and images of papyrological materials (e.g. papyri, ostraca, wood tablets, etc) located in collections around the world. It contains physical descriptions and bibliographic information about the papyri and other written materials, as well as digital images and English translations of many of these texts. When possible, links are also provided to the original language texts (e.g. through the Duke Data Bank of Documentary Papyri). The user can move back and forth among text, translation, bibliography, description, and image. With the specially-developed APIS Search System many different types of complex searches can be carried out.  
Connect   

Applied Mechanics Reviews   |  Includes Full Text   |   Coverage: 2001 - present  |    Access: UC Only
An international review journal, AMR features include: Review Articles, which organize, summarize and clarify knowledge as it currently exists in the technical literature; Retrospectives where authors look back on their work and areas of interest; Book Reviews (20-25/issue); and Book Notes (35-40/issue), which describe newly published books.   
Connect   

APS Online (American Periodicals Series)   |  Includes Full Text   |   Coverage: 1740 - 1900  |    Access: UC Only
See American Periodicals Series Online 1740-1900.  
Connect   

Architecture and Urban Planning Collection Free Access
The Architecture and Urban Planning Collection is a growing and diverse collection from many sources. The collection includes images of urban planning projects from China, Africa, Europe, and the U.S. Many of these images represent research projects of the College of Design, Architecture, Art and Planning faculty and students. Images of the built environment are from the Cincinnati Preservation Association, professional and amateur photographers, and from students and staff at the University of Cincinnati.  
Connect   

 First | Previous | Next | Last

.