The Gaelic languages are one of the two branches of the Insular Celtic languages. Gaelic languages historically formed a dialect range stretching from Ireland through the Isle of Man to Scotland. There are three modern Gaelic languages: Irish, Scottish Gaelic, and Manx, the latter of which died out in the 20th century, but has since been revived to some degree.

The family tree of Gaelic languages:

  • Insular Celtic
    • Primitive Irish
      • Old Irish
      • Middle Irish
        • Modern Irish
        • Scottish Gaelic
        • Manx


Gaelic 1 Gaelic 1-2 Gaelic 2 Gaelic 2-2 Gaelic 3